• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root saintdice says hi...and help?

Hello, all.

I'm sure you see/hear this a lot...but I'm new to the Android thing. I've got an Eris. I'm not rooted or anything cool like that, but I'm increasingly tempted to do so. I've come here to see if it's something that I - one of the less tech-savvy people walking the face of the planet - can handle. I've read and watched tutorials on rooting and upgrading to 2.1, but I'm still a bit hesitant.

My main concern is if I will accidentally brick this thing after the initial install. I'm fairly confident I can make it through the root process without any problems, but I'm wondering if there is anything I could stumble upon afterward that could cause me grief.

Are there things to stay away from if you don't know everything about everything?

Basically I'm afraid of a wrong button or keystroke just screwing me for good.

So in summary...

Hi.

Advice?

Comfort?

Yay.

Hello, all.

I'm sure you see/hear this a lot...but I'm new to the Android thing. I've got an Eris. I'm not rooted or anything cool like that, but I'm increasingly tempted to do so. I've come here to see if it's something that I - one of the less tech-savvy people walking the face of the planet - can handle. I've read and watched tutorials on rooting and upgrading to 2.1, but I'm still a bit hesitant.

My main concern is if I will accidentally brick this thing after the initial install. I'm fairly confident I can make it through the root process without any problems, but I'm wondering if there is anything I could stumble upon afterward that could cause me grief.

Are there things to stay away from if you don't know everything about everything?

So in summary...

Hi.

Advice?

Comfort?

Yay.
Welcome the the AF forums and enjoy your visits !! :cool:

please ask your questions in the eris rooting section of this forum ...