1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support samsung captivate

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chillidogsrus, Nov 26, 2010.

  1. chillidogsrus

    chillidogsrus Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010

    Nov 26, 2010
    1
    0
    25
    I have a samsung captivate from at&t and cannot get it to connect to my computer. Appearantly I need some drivers and do not know where to fing them.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jradicle11

    jradicle11 That Guy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    1,041
    113
    143
    Lifeguard
    Illinois
    Welcome, chillidogsrus! Let me move this to the appropriate section. It should get you a better response.
     
  3. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,530
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,530
    28,558
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Choose downloads>software and look for "Kies"

    Samsung

    That will install the drivers.
     
  4. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto
    Rank:
     #157
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,333
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    1,333
    218
    163
    Pilates Instructor
    South of Boston, MA
    Check the CapFAQ linked in my signature.
     
  5. NorCal Einstein

    NorCal Einstein Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    298
    42
    43
    Bay Area, CA
    Not anything personal to you reinbeau, but I am loving the number of people "helping" by passing people off to this CapFAQ with a link in their signature...

    OP:
    Go Here - [REF] *** Captivate Bible (directory) *** [REF] - xda-developers

    Scroll down to the bottom of the 1st post and download the USB drivers for your Windows OS...either 32 or 64 bit.

    There's no need to install Kies on your computer, but it won't hurt if you do.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  6. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto
    Rank:
     #157
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,333
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    1,333
    218
    163
    Pilates Instructor
    South of Boston, MA
    I prefer the CapFAQ to a multipage thread that has info scattered throughout it. I've got that thread bookmarked - but XDA isn't exactly the place for beginners to find basic info on. I've been struggling through this Android stuff now for a few months and this forum, and that FAQ, have given me the most basic help. From there XDA is the next step. YMMV, of course, it's all a learning curve.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  7. mdbarb

    mdbarb Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I am brand new to androids (my last cell phone was sooo old it had a rotary dial!!)
    A few hurdles for me:
    I cannot connect to the ATT server to update software
    i downloaded and installed the kies software.
    when I connect from the captivate to the computer via usb, I get a "connected" msg and icon on the phone but kies on the computer does not recognize any connection.
    What do i do now?

    Once I get this solved it should answer my other questions
    How to update latest upgrades, transfer pictures to the computer etc etc
     
  8. sremick

    sremick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    2,521
    356
    163
    IT Admin
    USA
    If you feel the Captivate FAQ falls short and needs additional info in some way, feel free to pass along your submissions/suggestions to the email provided.

    Until then, a consolidated repository of commonly-asked info where one only has to write up multi-page explanation once is preferable to repeatedly retyping said paragraphs ad nauseum for every person who asks.
     
  9. NorCal Einstein

    NorCal Einstein Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    298
    42
    43
    Bay Area, CA
    I've been around forums long enough to know that external sites containing "important" information don't generally work. I'm less dissatisfied with the content on your FAQ site than I am with your ways on trying to push traffic there and "help" aid a problem. For some of the questions asked, the time and energy it takes to direct someone towards your site and explain how that should be the first place to check is greater compared to if you were to just answer the damn question with 1 sentence.

    The last thing anyone needs is a little army of people answering every help thread with "Refer to link in signature.".
     
    Kattrinakitten likes this.
  10. mdbarb

    mdbarb Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    C'mon children. Stick to the subject.
    Surely you have more important things in life .....
    or post it in a nitpick thread
     
  11. sremick

    sremick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    2,521
    356
    163
    IT Admin
    USA
    It's the "teach a man to fish" principle. Doing everything for someone helps them not at all.
     
  12. jradicle11

    jradicle11 That Guy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    1,041
    113
    143
    Lifeguard
    Illinois
    Have you found what you needed?

    If you still face anymore problems, everyone here would be glad to help you. I, personally, cannot help you - being that I've never used the Captivate. But, I'm sure one of our many generous Captivate users in this forum would love to help you with your problems.

    Without bickering.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  13. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,530
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,530
    28,558
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania

    My son has a Captivate who was having issues connecting. I too just got a Captivate as a back-up to my N1 and found that trying to connect to a 64-bit OS can be problematic. On 32-bit installations of XP, Vista and Windows7, it worked pretty much every time. While Samsung says the drivers will work with 64-bit systems, I think two things happen in this case. First the OS doesn't recognize the device to install the correct drivers and it doesn't look in the right place for them.
     

Share This Page

Loading...