1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Samsung Galaxy 1.5 to 1.6 update problem

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by edholder, Nov 2, 2009.

  1. edholder

    edholder Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    Hi,

    I recently updated my Galaxy through the Samsung Media Suite, assuming this was an update from 1.5 - 1.6.
    The update seemed to go smoothly, the phone was powered the whole time and connected to the laptop and no error messages came up.

    However when the phone completed install and turned back on, my android standard keyboard had disappeared. The only sign that there had been an update was the addition of the switchers icon, but in the system info my phone is still showing as build 1.5

    In addition to this, the Samsung software on my pc is now not recognising the galaxy so i can't take transfer and back up and pictures from the phone and also it won't allow me to back up any of my contact info etc.

    I've spoken to o2 and been advised to do system resets and have done this through the menu system, via the 8 digit code and also through holding down volume, call and power. However despite the intention of this being to return it back to a factory fresh software build, which i assumed to be 1.5, no changes occur other than all my data being wiped. I downloaded an awful keyboard from the market place as it happened to be a featured item so i could click on it....and this remains in place after the factory reset, as does the switchers button.

    I just want my old galaxy back!!! i was really happy with 1.5 and now my phone is getting unuseable.

    any help would be appreciated
     

    Advertisement

  2. edholder

    edholder Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    oh, i forgot to mention. Whilst the original android keyboard disappeared, which i replaced with a downloaded one from the market, the original dialer still remains.

    However when in a call, i can no longer bring up the dial pad....the whole of the touchscreen doesn't work whilst in a call.

    grrrrrr :p
     
  3. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009

    Jul 31, 2009
    550
    17
    63
    First off, it sounds like you updated your firmware, rather than android version. Two different things. Confusing, i know.

    Second, there's a samsung galaxy specific forum if you scroll down the home page a bit here. You might find a lot of your questions in there already.
     
  4. mrqs

    mrqs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    1.6 (donut) isn't available for galaxy yet (will be a while 'till samsung can get their shit together), so it showing off as 1.5 is perfectly normal, what has changed is the last two characters of the baseband version (probably to i5 from whatever firmware you had before)
     

Share This Page

Loading...