1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Samsung Galaxy Europa

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Rebeccateebee, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. Rebeccateebee

    Rebeccateebee Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    3
    0
    25
    hey i'm new to this forum but had my android since crimbo :p

    I have the samsung galaxy europa and have a bunch of problems with it :L i did have the multiple text problem but i got it sorted and now its tells me its media scan running all the time :mad: its extremely annoying and if i try to unlock my phone whilst it's running it just jams for 5 or so mins and wont come on, it wont let me turn my phone off and on when its jammed so i have to remove the battery first and then power it on :mad::mad: this is now happening every 20 mins or so :mad::mad::mad: the restarting of my phone uses the battery too :L

    if anyone has sorted this MEDIA SCAN problem please please please help me :)
    thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,966
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,966
    35,411
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Welcome to the Android Forums.

    Sorry to hear about your frustration. Technology is supposed to make our lives easier, unless you work in tech support. You'll get good information if you post your questions about your phone in the Samsung Galaxy Europa Forum.

    Have you tried reseating your sd card? a media scan should only be done if the card is inserted while running or if a card is in the slot while the phone boots. It definitely is not supposed to continually rescan for media. It could be dodgy memory, too. You may have to do a factory reset, but be sure to back up all your content first.
     
    Rebeccateebee likes this.
  3. Rebeccateebee

    Rebeccateebee Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    3
    0
    25
    Sorry i wasn't really sure where to post :eek:

    I've reset my phone quite a few times and i've tried a few different memory cards and it happens with each one :thinking:
    thanks for trying to help though :)
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,966
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,966
    35,411
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Not to worry, that's what we're here for.

    If you've reset your phone and tried other memory cards, i'd say you got a bum phone and should be replaced. It should NOT be behaving that way.
     
  5. Rebeccateebee

    Rebeccateebee Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    3
    0
    25
    haha i must have :L think i should take it back to the carphone warehouse and make em fix it ;)
     
  6. cds0699

    cds0699 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,545
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1,545
    347
    163
    Shenandoah Jct WV
    Welcome to the Android forums, yeah the best thing to do is probably take it to the store and explain the problems you're having and they should be able to get you set up with a replacement.
     
    Rebeccateebee likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...