1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Samsung Galaxy Mega I9502 LTE & I9500

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by MrHerbDaily, Jan 3, 2014.

  1. MrHerbDaily

    MrHerbDaily Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #326
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013

    Jan 16, 2013
    119
    26
    43
    SoCal
    I found a website that sells unlocked Mega 6.3 I9205 and I9200 phones. Do they both work with metro pcs? And do these phones require a sim card? Right now I have a LG Motion 4G and would like to upgrade. Would I be able to activate the samsung galaxy mega 6.3 without a sim?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    They're both GSM phones, so they need a SIM.
     
  3. MrHerbDaily

    MrHerbDaily Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #326
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013

    Jan 16, 2013
    119
    26
    43
    SoCal
    OK, so I would have to purchase a sim card for $10 from metropcs and I can then transfer my service from my LG motion to Galaxy 6.3?

    Thanks.
     
  4. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    You do know you wouldn't be able to get LTE and you'd only get HSPA in refarmed areas
     
  5. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #44
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,452
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    Which website and what are their prices?

    There are websites that sell fake phones for cheap, and their quality is not that great. Make sure this is a legitimate website before buying from them.
     
  6. timmyh318

    timmyh318 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    539
    130
    103

    I believe you got this backwards. If the megas he is looking at are the same as the att model and not the unlocked international versio they support bands 4 and 7 lte. But do not support the hspa+ t mobile bands. So he would only get 2g or lte.
    How much are they selling the megas for? 399 thru metro themselves isnt a bad price at all for it and you dont have to worry if its compatible or not.
     
  7. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Nope ATTs is the i527 and in an area where you get LTE on tmobile with ATTs model you're more than likely to get HSPA+ on the 1900MHz band since the equipment basically goes hand in hand
     
  8. MrHerbDaily

    MrHerbDaily Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #326
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013

    Jan 16, 2013
    119
    26
    43
    SoCal
    So if I upgraded through metro pcs and got the phone from them I would not get 4g or LTE?
     
  9. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    You'd only be able to get HSPA+(4G) on the 1900 band, no AWS HSPA or LTE
     
  10. MrHerbDaily

    MrHerbDaily Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #326
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013

    Jan 16, 2013
    119
    26
    43
    SoCal
    I don't get it, why does metro pcs advertise it as LTE phone then?
     
  11. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    I think Gman missunderstood your question.

    If you bought the metro branded device I am fairly sure it will work on both 4glte and AWS hspa.

    I have not looked into that phone though so I could be mistaken.
     
  12. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Oh yes the metro branded one will get LTE
     

Share This Page

Loading...