1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - default Browser

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by stevekrz, Jan 22, 2014.

  1. stevekrz

    stevekrz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014

    Jan 22, 2014
    4
    0
    25
    I setup wifi immediately after getting my phone. At work they have a secure network that requires a browser to login with credentials. It used to prompt me which browser to use and in my haste i said default "Internet" (don't ask me again). The Internet browser for some reason fails to authenticate or times-out about 90% of the time. Anywho... I tried copying & pasting the url and using firefox and it works flawlessly. Now I cannot find out how to reset or set my default browser away from Internet (Chrome?) and set it to Firefox... or at least have it prompt me again every time i need to use the Internet. I tried looking in app manager but there are no defaults set for each browser I can see. Any help is appreciated.

    Thanks in advance!

    -stevekrz :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. luvmynad

    luvmynad Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    65
    30
    23
    Long hold the home button. click the lower left where it looks like a pie. on the top you will see a row of commands. Click on Clear Defaults and you have a choice of defaults to clear. The screen will actually only say Clear Def because there isn't enough room to fit the wording.
     
    dynomot, Roymus and drexappeal like this.
  3. stevekrz

    stevekrz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014

    Jan 22, 2014
    4
    0
    25
    Hmmm... long holding the home button only brings up a task manager.
    Says "no recent apps" and has task-manager/Google/Close-all on the bottom.

    No top gear/pie icons/buttons and the external buttons left menu is disabled next to the home button.

    Unless i misunderstand what the home button is... :eek:
     
  4. stevekrz

    stevekrz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014

    Jan 22, 2014
    4
    0
    25
    NM. I found it. Had to hit task manger then the row appeared.

    Internet was listed and I was able to clear it.

    Thank you!

    -stevekrz :-D
     
  5. picord

    picord Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    245
    35
    43
    Male
    Automotive Wholesale Parts Purchaser
    Northern Ca. Bay Area
    when your in task manager, click on the left lower tab (looks like a pie) this will bring you to another menu where you can clear defaults

    EDIT: nvr mind I see you got it
     
  6. xaelith

    xaelith Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #161
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    May 19, 2012

    May 19, 2012
    570
    266
    113
    Male
    Electronics assembly
    Utah
    User luvmynad posted this useful tip to help stevekrz with a browser issue:

     
  7. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,783
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,783
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    I'm quoting your post in the "tips and tricks" thread also. Very useful shortcut, for those that don't want to go through the hassle of scrolling through the manage app area.
     
    dynomot likes this.
  8. sdgmcdon

    sdgmcdon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012

    Feb 1, 2012
    53
    1
    16
    I just got the note 3 on verizon and this does not work...Internet is not listed as a default to clear (but chrome is).

    I cannot find a way to default the phone to ALWAYS use chrome. Currently if I click on a link from a website or email, it opens with the default samsung Internet browser.

    I want it to ALWAYS use chrome...anyone figure this out without rooting?
     
  9. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,783
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,783
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    I use Chrome, stock, and dolphin, depending on the situation, so I don't have any browser set as default to launch a url, but did you check the app settings for the stock browser, to make sure that has been cleared first?

    [​IMG]

    Mine is grey because, as mentioned, I don't have any browsers defaulted to launch links, but check if yours is white. If so, clear that first. That is when you should be able to choose chrome as default when clicking a link.
     
  10. dynomot

    dynomot Android Expert
    Rank:
     #96
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,902
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011

    Dec 4, 2011
    1,902
    908
    273
    Male
    Sheffield U.K

    Fabulous tip, you taught me something I didn't know. :)

    On the subject of browsers, apart from Dolphin, that I can't get along with for some reason. Are there any others that support Flash? Ideally I'd love Chrome to support it, but I know it doesn't.
     

Samsung Galaxy Note 3

The Samsung Galaxy Note 3 launched in 2012 and was the company's flagship phablet. The device featured a 5.7-inch display with a 1920 x 1080 resolution, 3GB of RAM, 32GB of storage, and a 13MP main camera.

Share This Page

Loading...