1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Samsung Galaxy S - Froyo

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MOOREOFSTEPHEN, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. MOOREOFSTEPHEN

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Trying to find any info on froyo coming out for the vibrant? I have the Samsung Galaxy S from T-Mobile. I've been trying to relax and wait LOL what's the spill?

    Thanks! !
     

    Advertisement

  2. ragnarokx

    ragnarokx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    121
    13
    38
    Los Angeles
    Should be an early Christmas present. Better yet a Thanksgiving present. Or even better a Halloween treat :D

    But yeah everybody knows as much as you at this point.
     
  3. MOOREOFSTEPHEN

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    thanks for the heads up. I'm not super local on keeping updated on everything so I just keep asking like annoying little noob. :)
     
  4. RedRyno

    RedRyno Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    207
    27
    43
    Construction
    SoCal
    I hear the lines will be out the door and around the block... :)
     
  5. Hr2burn

    Hr2burn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    18
    9
    16
    T-Mobile on End September (28-30/9).

    Samsung Benelux Begin on Mid October (15-20/10).

    Samsung Spain end of October (25-30/10).

    Samsung India end of October (25-30/10).

    Samsung Polish end of October (25-30/10).

    Samsung Europe end of October (25-30/10).

    Samsung USA on November.

    T-Mobile USA on November.

    Samsung Galaxy S Froyo Update Regions Release Dates - Samsung Captivate Forum
     

    Attached Files:

    • 231.jpg
      231.jpg
      File size:
      162.4 KB
      Views:
      92
    coyotejones3, _wolf_ and singsong like this.
  6. singsong

    singsong Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    12
    3
    16
    Based on Samsung's announcement to release the Galaxy S phones in Japan with 2.2 Froyo update by the end of October, we can reasonably expect to get the update either this month or next month at the latest. :)

     
  7. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    There suppose to be working round the clock to sort it out
     
  8. s.sami

    s.sami Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Sweden - G
  9. chrisjackson1985

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    52
    8
    16
    Me to, im in the UK, and used the kies registry hack to fool the software into thinking i was from the nordic region as thiers as been released officially.

    So, ive gone from JM1 to JP6 :)
     
  10. hsekum

    hsekum Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    46
    1
    16
    can u explain how were u able to do so
     
  11. chrisjackson1985

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    52
    8
    16
    sure,

    download Samsung Kies version 1.5.1.10074_45 or something that is not the latest, you will need to un-install the latest then install this one.

    i used this one, as the new one would crash.

    1. open Samsung Kies and let you phone be detected as usual.

    2. keep Kies open, minimize it and run regedit in windows.

    3. locate HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Samsung\Kies\DeviceDB\

    4. you should see some folders, named 1,2,3 etc in that folder, look for the one that mentions your current firmware, IMEI number etc etc.

    5. once you know the correct folder (onnly one folder mentions this information), you need to modify 3 strings by simply clicking it and selecting modify.

    6. Change these 3 strings to this: ( but id remember your old 3-strings information if i were you, i did just incase i need them in the future. (you never know - so i jotted em down in a notepad file :) )

    “SoftwareRevision”=”I9000XXJF3/I9000SWC/I9000XXJF3/I9000XXJF3″
    “ProductCode”=”GT-I9000HKDXEE”
    “HIDSWVER”=”I9000XXJF3/I9000SWC/I9000XXJF3/I9000XXJF3″

    so, while Kies is minimized and still open and connected to your phone, you have changed these 3 strings.

    click Firmware update, and you should now see Kies saying there is one for JP6.

    Good Luck :)

    this is what i did and it worked without a hitch
     
  12. freak2demon

    freak2demon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Singapore
     
  13. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    2,872
    319
    163
    Whats the point?

    It fixes nothing. :mad:
     
  14. chrisjackson1985

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    52
    8
    16
    It didnt remove it on my device,

    settings > privacy > factory data reset

    this should fix it for you.
     
  15. freak2demon

    freak2demon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Singapore
  16. chrisjackson1985

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    52
    8
    16
    freak2demon likes this.
  17. chrisjackson1985

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    52
    8
    16
    freak2demon likes this.
  18. HammerB

    HammerB Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Toronto, ON
    chrisjackson1985,

    I tried your kies hack but it didn't work for me. I'm in Canada using the Vibrant on Bell. After I completed the string changes, and click on firmware update it tells me this:

    Model Name : GT-19000M
    Current Version : PDA:JF3 / PHONE:JF3
    This device's version cannot be updated.

    Any input would be greatly appreciated.
     
  19. Darkman1

    Darkman1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010

    Oct 16, 2010
    4
    0
    5
     
  20. chrisjackson1985

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    52
    8
    16
    No problem :) (click the thanks button :) ) lol

    @ HammerB - are you sure that you have followed my steps correctly, other people seem to be doing it without problems :thinking:

    if the update isnt showing up at all, i suggest that your:

    1. not keeping Kies minimized.
    2. or not changing the correct strings.
    3. or maybe your including the " in the strings you have entered.

    please check all steps.
     
    Bob-o and Darkman1 like this.
  21. dbchoong

    dbchoong Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010

    Oct 16, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I'm from Singapore running a 2.1 JM2 firmware now. Now thinking of froyo-ing. I can't find the older Samsung Kies version 1.5.1.10074_45. The supplied link don't work. Where can I find the older Kies?

    TIA.

    :)
     
  22. chrisjackson1985

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    52
    8
    16
    The link works, when the site loads, click the free user download.

    So everyone, its been an enjoyable night, but must sleep :) hope my posts have helped ppl.

    Im running froyo JP6, ive rooted it, added busybox and removed some pre-installed apps such as aldiko reader and press reader!

    Ive also performed a `full reset` and not just the factory reset in the settingd to clear up my internal sd card :)

    busy night indeed, have fun!
     
  23. dbchoong

    dbchoong Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010

    Oct 16, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Do I need to remove SIM and Micro-SD before using Kies to upgrade to Froyo?
     
  24. Endoran

    Endoran Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    403
    24
    38
    SLC, Utah

    I wonder if this is because everyone else is running the international version of the Galaxy S I9000. Whereas we have different model numbers and presumably need a tailored update for our devices. The I9000 update for Europe should be the same no matter where you are they are just releasing it in trickles to prevent server meltdown.
     
  25. chrisjackson1985

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    52
    8
    16
    no.

    good luck ;)

    BUT - you could do a full reset of your phone before you start to stop any possible software malfuncations with apps you already have installed.

    it also gets rid of alot of junk still sitting on your internal SD.

    it does more than the standard settings>privacy>factory data reset. (this is a basic reset)

    it actually does restore the phone to when you bought it, a PURE factory reset.

    to do this type this on your keypad. : *2767*3855#
     

Share This Page

Loading...