1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Samsung Galaxy S - Indian thread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by saj_2001ind, Jun 19, 2010.

  1. TOOCOOL7610

    TOOCOOL7610 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    @sid , should i get a jig or samsung centre(would they know it that i had rooted??) if get a jig then from where?? i live near delhi.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sid11

    sid11 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    21
    2
    16
    Student
    India
  3. TOOCOOL7610

    TOOCOOL7610 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    ohh s**t samsung guys saying that there is no download mode coming on my set (and that they dont know how to get download mode via the "jig" method , so they will change the motherboard of my galaxy s, now i am very sceptic about the fact that, will they change a new motherboard or a refurbished one???? i am very angry that these stupid ppl dont know the jig method to get download mode working, is it not an official samsung method to get it wrking atall???
     
  4. speedX

    speedX Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    58
    2
    16
    Hey guys....how to take backup of contacts without using kies??
     
  5. TOOCOOL7610

    TOOCOOL7610 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    go to android market and search contacts , there will be many apps which will save ur contacts on sd card .
     
  6. sid11

    sid11 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    21
    2
    16
    Student
    India
    dude did u ask them abt download mode and jig??

    if so r u sick?? why did u ask them
    now they will come t knw that u knw abt this kinda of rooting download mode stuff

    dont ask them anything just be a noob
     
  7. talktoanil

    talktoanil Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    134
    10
    38
    seriously , you guys have not idea about Android.

    In contacts settings , make sure u select GOOGLE CONTACT.

    this why , any NEW contact you creates goes to your gmail contacts
    existing contacts from gmail comes to your phone book.
    update anywhere and its synced , its 2 way sync.

    Next time u format phone , just sign in with same gmail ID and you get everything restored.

    Enable Auto Sync and backgrnd sync..no need of any ****ing app for this... :)
    cheers and explore Android.
     
    speedX likes this.
  8. mohnishism

    mohnishism Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    69
    0
    15
    Which custom rom u guys using??
    nd which one is the best??
    im on simple honey 3.3 nd i love it..upgrading to 3.5 today...
     
  9. TOOCOOL7610

    TOOCOOL7610 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    bro i know i should not have said that but i didnt want my love (sgs) to be opened , i dont like that thats y i talked to him about jig and all,anyways lets see, btw today gingerbread is available for galaxy s phones. i hope when they will give me it will be in gingerbread updated:D
     
  10. speedX

    speedX Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    58
    2
    16
    But dude wat should I do about my existing contacts now??? They are not google contacts. How to take their backup on my gmail account??? Please reply...
     
  11. Aravindan

    Aravindan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    61
    7
    16
    Male
    Software Quality Analyst
    Chennai
    Guys,

    The Gingerbread update is now available in India via Kies.
     
  12. neiljsaldanha

    neiljsaldanha Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010

    Nov 4, 2010
    29
    2
    36
    Software Engineer
    Bangalore, India
    yeah guys the update is now available via Kies! Thankfully they've given us 2.3.3 this time around (unlike last update where we got 2.2 itself). The good thing was that the whole process took less than 10 minutes and absolutely no data was erased. All contact information and applications installed were restored automatically!

    Ran the Quadrant Standard benchmark a couple of times and got scores of 973 and 992. The performance seems a bit smoother than 2.2. Hopefully the phone won't hang anymore!
     
  13. speedX

    speedX Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    58
    2
    16
    Hey guys m not able to update to 2.3.3. ****all kies software says there was an unexpected error and the device is not responding....any idea wat to do??
     
  14. Aravindan

    Aravindan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    61
    7
    16
    Male
    Software Quality Analyst
    Chennai
    What is the error you are getting? Are you using Win 7? If so, run Kies as administrator. At which point you are getting the error? During Firmware download or during actual update?
     
  15. sensation

    sensation Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    on checking for firmware upgrade..my Kies still says the same..this device's version cannot be upgraded. no mention of gingerbread upgrade..!!!! :x :x

    edit: i installed the latest Kies version 2.0.0.11044_11 available on Samsung website, now it doesn't even my Galaxy S..it just shows "Connecting...." on the left side!! damn u samsung :x
     
  16. speedX

    speedX Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    58
    2
    16
    Ya m running windows 7. The error that im getting is "There was an unexpected error. The device is not responding." This error is coming while preparing to upgrade firmware
     
  17. akshayrajsingh

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    36
    0
    15
    Hey Guys,
    I tried to upgrade my Galaxy S firmware today. But the damn thing gives an error the moment it starts the upgrade process.

    "Failed to acquire permission from the GT-I9000 administrator. The program will close."


    Any idea why this is happening? I just moved to US and have put in a T Mobile sim. Dont know if thats the issue..Hellpppp
     
  18. Aravindan

    Aravindan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    61
    7
    16
    Male
    Software Quality Analyst
    Chennai
    Even I had an error and had to reconnect my phone after unplugging. Kies immediately recognized the same and initiated "Emergency Firmware Recovery", and after completing the same, the upgrade was done for 2.3.3
     
  19. Aravindan

    Aravindan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    61
    7
    16
    Male
    Software Quality Analyst
    Chennai
    You need to run Kies2 as Administrator. Once you do that you will not get this error. Refer to the snapshot.
     

    Attached Files:

    akshayrajsingh likes this.
  20. Karanh

    Karanh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010

    Nov 4, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    My current firmware version is 2.2.1...baseband version I9000XXJPy...Kies says this version of device cannot be updated :mad: ........ any kind of help , suggestions will be highly appreciated........
     
  21. Purnil

    Purnil Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010

    Dec 3, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    Today i tried to upgrade my sgs through kies.
    I first upgraded my kies to latest version, but the upgrade encounters problem while starting to download upgrade. It ends with a windows error prompt saying "an error occured...".
    I tried running Kies with "Run as administrator" mode, but same errors pops up everytime.
    Any suggestions? Pls help.
     
  22. paritoshnaidu

    paritoshnaidu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Hey guys,

    I've upgraded my firmware for galaxy s to 2.2 and since then am not able to connect to any wifi network. The scanning of available networks and selecting a particular network is possible but once i select a network n when it prompts for the wifi key the connect button is not active without which i cannot connect to the network.

    plz help tried all the setting in wifi but nothing seems to work ...

    cheers

    Paritosh
     
  23. striker75

    striker75 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Yupeee!! upgraded without any issues... can confirm that all data is intact. No loss what so ever... now to check the performance.
     
  24. akshayrajsingh

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    36
    0
    15
    So i just updated to gingerbread!!..still too early to say if things look for the better.

    Do have 1 observation and i wanna ask this to all who have upgraded to 2.3.3 - "Has anyone noticed a drastic drop in battery life after the upgrade??"

    My battery used to run atleast 1.5 days with nirmal usage. Post upgrading yest, it went from 92% to 30% overnight!!!!
     
  25. h1tm4n

    h1tm4n Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    can you please tell which windows version are u on ?
    for most of us on win 7,we get the firmware update has stopped working errror !:mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...