1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Samsung Galaxy S on Froyo - cannot handover between WiFi Access Points automatically

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by flaggy, Nov 16, 2010.

  1. flaggy

    flaggy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Hi there,

    I have two Wifi Access Points (APs) at home, both using the same SSID, but on different channels.

    I expected the SGS to automatically move (handover) from one AP to another based on signal strengths that vary depending on where I am.

    However, this does not happen. It stays on the AP that it is connected to, even when moving to very poor signal levels.

    I need to manually trigger this (e.g by disconnecting from the AP).

    Is there a way to fix this? e.g. configuration or Android app.

    By the way, I also tried configuring the APs with different SSIDs, but this didn't work either.

    Thanks
    Tim
     

    Advertisement

  2. jimsearle

    jimsearle Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011

    Apr 23, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have this same problem on my Galaxy S (Captivate) phone. Is there any solution? Seems to be a problem with all Android Phones?
     
  3. imcdona

    imcdona Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    This is basic functionality that any WiFi capable device should have. Especially the Vibrant with UMA calling.
     
  4. mgreene

    mgreene Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    Jul 25, 2011
    11
    3
    16
    Have noticed the same issue on my HTC Sensation 4G -- any updates on how to address?
     

Share This Page

Loading...