1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Samsung Galaxy S problem with top "slider"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pbecks1973, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. pbecks1973

    pbecks1973 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Hello,

    I am new to android and the i9000. (but i managed to upgrade it to android V2.2, root the device and got rid off the lag (lag fix). Benchmark test shot up from 790 to 1890!!!

    However! Every now and then (as specialy at the end of the day) I have got a problem with the "thingy" (notification bar) that slides down and shows if the wifi/bluetooth/sync/ is on or off (it also shows app's that are being downloaded/installed from android market, etc..)

    It doesn't slide down (completely) anymore. After a reboot everything is ok for a while...


    ??? help



    some data:

    Kernel: 2.6.32.9 ROOT@SE-S608 #1
    Build: FROYO-XWJPA
    MODEL: GT-I9000
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mark_H

    Mark_H Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    80
    3
    16
    I have the same problem - surely other people are experiencing this also?
     
  3. pbecks1973

    pbecks1973 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Hello,

    I think i "had" this problem because my phone was syncing to much at the same time (2 mail-accounts/Rss-feeds/android-app-updates/weather updates/etc..)

    I haven't got the problem anymore (i hope)
     
  4. holgalee

    holgalee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    120
    7
    36
    I'm having the same problem right now. Sometimes it's a little hard to pull up or down, but today the bar seems bent on remaining up there or showing just a little bit.

    Will try deleting some apps that need updating and see how it goes.
     
  5. holgalee

    holgalee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    120
    7
    36
    Strange, but this morning the problem is gone after I switched off the phone for the night (even though I'd restarted it a few days yesterday). I think it's because I disabled background sync. Will monitor and report if the bar misbehaves again.
     
  6. ironman666

    ironman666 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    71
    10
    18
    Norway
    I also have had this problem 2 or 3 times. I have no idea what causes this. if i uses normal speed when pulling it down, it stops about where u see that gray grabber thing and maybe 2 pixels down. If i try to pull it down superfast, i can if lucky get it halfway down. Also, when i pull the notf.bar it freezes, meaning, i cant pull it up or click it, i have to press home-key to make my phone work.

    Althougt a restart fixes this, i always wonder why it sometime crashes
     
  7. Aravindan

    Aravindan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    61
    7
    16
    Male
    Software Quality Analyst
    Chennai
    I'm having this problem. The notification bar is stuck at top and I'm unable to bring it down and view all the notifications. However, I can see the notifications via Menu->Notifications.

    Didnt wanna open a new thread since there was one existing on the same topic without a possible solution.

    hopefully the next update should fix this.

    Data:
    Firmware: 2.2
    Baseband version: I9000DDJP2
    Build: FROYO.DDJP6
     
  8. jjunlimit

    jjunlimit Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Am facing the same problem as well.

    After I removed LauncherPro, the slider works fine. I rem that launcherpro has a function to set how you wan to display the notification. Not sure if its the cause of it. You may wan to try...
     
  9. ccortada

    ccortada Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011

    Jan 25, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hi all,
    I am having the same error. I notice that when i run Skype, specially when i close it, is when that happen.

    ____________________
    Bell Samsung Galaxy S
    Froyo 2.2 GL2
     
  10. micshpar

    micshpar Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Hi,
    Have you figured this out?
    I am having this problem now with notification bar
    and cannot find a solution
    Thanx
     
  11. holgalee

    holgalee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    120
    7
    36
    I've not had this problem since flashing custom roms (using Doc's kitchen rom right now). But you'll need to root your phone first. I did it using z4root; it's a one step process that's been problem-free for me. Before rooting and flashing a rom, you need to check whether you have the button recovery mode, read up extensively and ask questions if need be. Doc's rom is great for support as there are kind volunters who man the chat line.
     
  12. glupi

    glupi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have no idea why, but this is coming from Skype!

    What i did:
    I had same problem with the status (notification) bar, and couldn't fix it.
    I made a factory reset and the effect was gone.
    I installed Skype again and after some time with no problems I touched the slider for something - immediately I got the bad behavior again.

    I do not want to do factory reset again, but it seems I'll have to. :(
    Anyone else noticed this, or am I nuts?

    2.2 gt-i9000
     
  13. Manjar

    Manjar Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    26
    1
    16
    Happens occasionally.
    fix with restart - so far so good.
    Many little bugs starting to surface actually. Time to step up from 2.2..
     

Share This Page

Loading...