1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Samsung Galaxy S2 Icon Problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by haylz, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. haylz

    haylz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    All my icons have completely vanished, the task manager/downloads says all the apps are still there but they won't show up on the home screen. Even when I click the main menu button (the four bottom icons are still visable) there are still no icons. I'm truly annoyed!! I don't know what to do because there is nothing online in forums or help/advice. Someone help!! :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. danaj

    danaj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    723
    245
    93
    Female
    Tucson, Az
    Did you try to reboot? If so did that fix it?
     
  3. axip

    axip Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I also have this same problem after initially updating to android 2.3.6 yesterday

    Everything worked fine, I set my alarm, woke up this morning and after the alarm went off on the S2 all of the icons disappeared, I can not reach the applications menu aswell.

    Please help people Im going insane!

    Edit: I tried several reboots, didnt work!
     
  4. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,322
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,322
    4,270
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Welcome to the forum axip

    Can you still add icons to the homescreen? If you can long press the homescreen, choose shortcut, then settings, then manage applications. This will allow you to clear data for your launcher which should sort the problem. If not it looks like its going to have to be a factory reset.
     
    axip likes this.
  5. axip

    axip Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks for your reply Shotgun84

    I didn't quite get this though; "long press the homescreen, choose shortcut, then settings, then manage applications."

    - What exactly is "shortcut"? The closest thing to it I can find is Task Manager.


    Edit: I pulled the battery while the phone was still ON, icons are back now. Initially I removed the battery AFTER switching the phone off, that didn't seem to fix it.
     
  6. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,322
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,322
    4,270
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    I'm glad its sorted.

    When you hold your finger on an empty space on your homescreen you should get a pop-up which says add to screen. The second in that list should be shortcut.
     
  7. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Would have been easier to clear data for the launcher and redo the settings, shortcuts etc....

    Just a thought... :D
     
  8. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,322
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,322
    4,270
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Yeah, I think the problem was there weren't any icons so couldn't get into settings. Why I tried to think of a way round it.
     
  9. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Should have tap the menu button and go to settings from there....

    Still doesn't explain why it happen in the first place. You know people try to make high tech (higher tech) smartphones now, but need so many lines of codes to get it working, errors just crops up.....

    :p
     
  10. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,322
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    6,322
    4,270
    483
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Yeah you're right. That would've been easier. Its been a long time since I've pressed that, completely forgot there was an option to go to settings there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...