1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Samsung Galaxy S3 can't connect to new wifis

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by boboboi, Jan 3, 2014.

  1. boboboi

    boboboi Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Hiya everyone.

    I have a Samsung Galaxy S3, GT-I9300.

    Some months ago, which I think was after an upgrade, it stopped being able to connect to new wifi networks. It can still connect to the old saved ones (or rather the old SSIDs, so I can connect to e.g. McDonalds and open dlink routers all over the world.)

    Mostly this isn't a problem, as it can connect to all the networks I regulary use, but when I'm travelling or somewhere new, I can't connect to any. When I try, I succeed but then my phone restarts. In the beginning it restarted once and then I was connected, but now it will restart over and over again in a loop, and I will have to take the battery out, start it up again and then shut wifi off before it connects again.

    Anyone familiar with this problem, or have an idea to how to fix it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Seem to be the magic words when it comes to S3 bugs. Everyone seems to have different ones.
     
  3. boboboi

    boboboi Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    :\

    No one with a similar experience?
     
  4. vsanch24

    vsanch24 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    172
    36
    53
    Male
    Mid-Michigan, USA
    I have heard doing a factory reset on the device cleans up a lot of the bugs after an OTA update on the S3. Yes this would mean reinstalling all your apps and settings, but those issues may be resolved with a fresh install of the 4.3.
     
  5. nandosandes

    nandosandes Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014

    Apr 4, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    I have exactly the same problem! Any solution?
     
  6. boboboi

    boboboi Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    For me it started working as normal again after a firmware update.
     

Share This Page

Loading...