1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Samsung I5500 - Update to 2.2?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SirFog, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. SirFog

    SirFog Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    Hello all, and thanks in advance for any help.

    I'm in the UK and looking to buy a Samsung I5500, noticing it only runs Android 2.1 I looked up updating to 2.2 but some of the older posts and threads seem as if there has been a long long wait and a number of problems.

    So, is the I5500 easily updated to 2.2 now? Or is it still a pain in the butt?

    Again, thanks in advance for any help. I'm a new user here, and providing I get joy in updating this phone I will be back often I'm sure.

    SirFog
     

    Advertisement

    Dilz likes this.
  2. queeni

    queeni Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    101
    17
    38
    Denmark
    you need to update to 2,2 it
     
    SirFog likes this.
  3. SirFog

    SirFog Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    Thanks for the reply, but I haven't bought the phone yet, and was hoping to find out if 2.2 has been released in the UK for the Three network yet.

    If anyone could tell me one way or the other that would be great. To be honest I'm going to buy it anyway, but I'd like to know if it's possible as I can't get the phone just yet.
     
  4. queeni

    queeni Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    101
    17
    38
    Denmark
    uk may have 2,2 - I am from Denmark and have it for more than
     
    SirFog likes this.
  5. SirFog

    SirFog Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    Samsungs Hp?, sorry I don't understand. I've just went and looked up samsungs site, and Three networks site and I can't find any info available as to whether or not the update is available.
     
  6. Rambo69only

    Rambo69only Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    I am on meteor in ireland.I found the official froyo yesterday.I had to update my kies twice and then download it.I hadn't updated kies and was getting really frustrated that I couldn't get it but was then kicking myself that it was so easy to get!!!
     
  7. queeni

    queeni Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    101
    17
    38
    Denmark
    Samsung home page for Uk :) :)
    I just tryed, and you are right there are nothing about 2,2 , I will come back if I can find something about this.
     
    SirFog likes this.
  8. SirFog

    SirFog Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    @Queeni - Thanks again, I think I may try and contact the network and see if they currently offer the update. I'm just keen to know if I can download to my SD and the other updates that come with 2.2.

    @Rambo - Glad you got the update on Meteor, I'm keeping my fingers crossed that it's going to be easy enough to update.

    EDIT :- Just a thought, if anyone can answer. I know on 2.1 you can't download straight to SD, but can you d/l an App then shift it to your SD to use?
     
  9. queeni

    queeni Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    101
    17
    38
    Denmark
    when you get 2,2 you can download to the SD card with an app, not with 2,1

    Have you downloaded kies to your pc ??
    Support for GT-I5500

    when you have this on your pc then try to put your phone to the pc and then you will get some informations about update to 2,2
    Maybe not the first time :) but try 2-3 times and between each time give the system some time.

    If it not work after 2-3 time then uninstall kies and then install again on your pc, remember to restart the pc each time

    Sorry my English.
     
    SirFog likes this.
  10. queeni

    queeni Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    101
    17
    38
    Denmark
    when you clik on the link - then you need to go to Software - just below Manuals
     
    SirFog likes this.
  11. SirFog

    SirFog Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    Thank you again Queeni, much appreciated :)
     
  12. queeni

    queeni Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    101
    17
    38
    Denmark
    Glad if I could help :)
     
  13. Creamcake

    Creamcake Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    8
    1
    6
    Any luck, I have more or less given up, I updated my Galaxy 5 OK with latest Kies to V2.2, but the wifes Europa will not update from 2.1.
    Asked Samsung but they only gave me tips to get the phone to connect to Kies when that isnt what I asked them they seem to be ignoring me now and the real question "why wont it update"? It loads and connects and even shows the contacts list but it will not update to V2.2
     
  14. queeni

    queeni Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    101
    17
    38
    Denmark
    Creamcake did you try this !!!! ( even when i works with your phone, no one say it will work next time :mad:)

    I tried on 3 pc - 2 with win xp and one with win7 - 2-3 times on each - went back to the first pc again and suddenly it works. So Kies s really awful :thinking::thinking:
     
  15. Creamcake

    Creamcake Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    8
    1
    6
    Thanks will keep trying but one phone is consistently OK with KIES the other always reports unable to be upgraded. Only have Win maybe can try in XP mode.
    Both phones are GT_15500
     
  16. Creamcake

    Creamcake Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    8
    1
    6
    One more silly question as Samsung are ignoring me. Its a new phone, unlocked connects to Kies but wont upgrade. I saw a thread somewhere that said this problem could be because some other than standard version may have been installed. Could this happen if the shop had taken a new phone and removed a providers lock or branding before selling it? As Samsung will not tell me what my version means (I sent them the whole Kies message)
    Thanks
     
  17. Dilz

    Dilz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012

    Mar 2, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I have currently, an Android phone (Samsung Galaxy Europa GT-I5500) and i was wondering if there was any updates available, for the phone. If so, how can i do it safely and properly?
     
  18. queeni

    queeni Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    101
    17
    38
    Denmark
  19. BernardoLG

    BernardoLG Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Greetings!
    Looking to upgrade to Android 2.2 my Samsung Galaxy:

    Model Number: GT-I5500L
    Firmware Version: 2.1-update1
    Base Band Version: I5500LUYJH3
    Kernel Version: 2.6.29-perf
    hojoong@sep-13 #1
    Compilation Number: ERE27

    I've read MANY posts, but must lead to broken links.
    PLEASE, point me to the right post/tutorial.
     
  20. BananaCannon

    BananaCannon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 5, 2012

    May 5, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Can someone plz give me new links for the downloads, cuz the links are all broken for me. I am in the U.S and want froyo. I have a gt i15503.
     
  21. queeni

    queeni Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    101
    17
    38
    Denmark
    From what i can see - in U.S. they need your carrier, too - so sorry I can
     
  22. BananaCannon

    BananaCannon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 5, 2012

    May 5, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    My carrier is at&t. If anyone could give me links that wont brick my phone, i would appreciate it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...