1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Samsung j7 boost mobile

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by iram, Jun 27, 2016.

  1. iram

    iram Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #187
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Purchased J7 recently coming over from lg volt boost mobile

    Knowing there will be some changes in operating systems and between manufacturers

    Just in case I missed it

    Is there a setting to rotate home screen horizontally
    Usually prefer it that way when mounted in car holder

    not sure if its a launcher thing
    tried now launcher but didnt see much difference

    also the volt had a data disable button.....would the j7 have a simular function
     

    Advertisement

  2. storageman

    storageman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    88
    20
    38
    Male
    Well My J7 from Boost when I activated it, automatically rotates the screen. I feel your pain. I'm always looking for a setting that got moved in 6.0 vs 4.4.
     
  3. wardnkathy

    wardnkathy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    64
    20
    28
    I do not know of a setting to allow the launcher home screen to rotate. You will likely have to install a different launcher to get that ability. To turn off data look at the settings - data usage menu. The closest you can get from the pull-down menu IAS to turn sync off and on.
     
  4. iram

    iram Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #187
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Thank you both
    Found data button
    Also agree about screen rotate...it seems it only rotates certain screens if allowed.....Im not sure if its a launcher issue or 6.0 issue
    I really want option to rotate horizontally when in car dashboard holder
     
  5. iram

    iram Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #187
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    BTW.....has anyone been able to root this phone successfully yet?
     
  6. Kip Kap

    Kip Kap Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014

    Nov 24, 2014
    15
    3
    26
    Male
    That's funny I'm in the same situation coming from a Volt to the J7.

    There's a recovery being worked on for the J700T which is the T-Mobile version, but their phone and our phone share the same specs so hopefully their recovery works for us, and from there it's smooth sailing to a working root.

    It's on the XDA forums so if you're not part of that I'll be sure to come and report back on whether they develop a working recovery for the J700P.
     
  7. iram

    iram Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #187
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    I switched to Google Now launcher.....It actually is very similar to the Touch Wiz on J7
    I was basically able to duplicate the way I set up Touch Wiz to look like it in Now Launcher
    Settings in Now launcer allow to turn horizontal flip on or off and it does it for main home screen.
    Some minor differences in look of widgets and folders.
    Have no clue on what a Google card is so I just turned function off.
     
  8. Kunundra

    Kunundra Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016

    Jul 8, 2016
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    Yes just pull down your top screen and there is a button for auto rotate.
     
  9. Kunundra

    Kunundra Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016

    Jul 8, 2016
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    I am new to this site give me a few tries I will figure it out
     
  10. iram

    iram Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #187
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    405
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Thanks yes found it......at least toggles home screen however not
    all other screens toggle horizontally
     
    RohaWaRohaMenther likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...