1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Samsung Kies now OK on Windows 7 64-bit???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by westbros, May 24, 2012.

  1. westbros

    westbros Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #641
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    293
    19
    38
    I am seriously considering the GS3 as an upgrade to my now full HTC Desire. But before I take the plunge there is one serious question that I need an answer to.

    Before the Desire I owned a series of Samsung phones, the last of which was the Tocco. But when I got a new PC running Win 7 64-bit I suddenly found that it would not recognise the Tocco when I connected the two together. My phone was effectively downgraded to just...a phone. :mad:

    For months Samsung stated that their drivers would not work with any 64-bit OS (including Vista). So because they were so slow in getting up to 64-bit speed I decided to abandon Samsung in favour of HTC.

    My opinion is that the GS3 will be a better phone than the One X (for what I need it for anyway). But I now seriously need to know whether the 64-bit problem has been solved? Can owners of the GS2 or GNexus please let me know if they have any problems with Kies on Win 7 64-bit?

    I also know that Samsung have started OTA updates. Does that apply to all updates including major ones, e.g. Gingerbread to ICS? Or does that have to be done via Kies?

    Thanks for any advice. :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. greggebhardt

    greggebhardt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    671
    56
    78
    Owner
    Jacksonville, FL
    I have been using Kies on Win7 64bit for six months or longer.
     
  3. Crafty

    Crafty Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    345
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    345
    69
    63
    Does it really matter ? nowadays you can just send everything over wifi..
     
  4. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    Kies works fine on my Win 7 64. I just used it to download a new updated firmware for my Tmo GS2.
     
  5. westbros

    westbros Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #641
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    293
    19
    38
    Cool, thanks for the replies. That removes that doubt. GS3 it will be then - unless of course any serious problems raise their heads once the phone hits the markets.
     
  6. adham3

    adham3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Nice, now I would like that kies found my GS2 on win 7 64bit & still trying, is there any thing I miss!? thanks in advance
     
  7. silentwitness

    silentwitness Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,095
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,095
    319
    173
    Male
    Bombay India
    i was using kies on my win 7 64bit and now using it on my win 8 64 bit also with no issues. although to be honest u dont really need kies.
     

Share This Page

Loading...