1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Samsung Rugby Is Sluggish

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by djlen, Jan 5, 2014.

  1. djlen

    djlen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012

    Nov 13, 2012
    37
    5
    36
    Male
    Somerdale, NJ
    My wife and I both use Samsung Rugby Androids and they both seem really
    sluggish to answer when given a command. There is a long hesitation between
    pushing a button and getting the phone to react.
    Is there a way to achieve an overall speed-up on this phone?

    Regards,
    Len
     

    Advertisement

  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,291
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,291
    23,633
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Hey Len,

    I've moved your thread over here to the Rugby Pro area (it doesn't look like we have a non-Pro area, so I hope this is okay and similar) from the Android Applications area.

    Hopefully you'll get some better views and replies over here.

    Cheers and best of luck!
     
  3. djlen

    djlen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012

    Nov 13, 2012
    37
    5
    36
    Male
    Somerdale, NJ
    Okay, thank you for that.

    Regards,
    Len
     
    scary alien likes this.
  4. kemonine96

    kemonine96 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    May 17, 2012

    May 17, 2012
    76
    24
    18
    Do you have the "normal" Rugby Smart? It should say SGH-I847 in the "About Device" area of the settings.

    If so, which version of android is it running (gingerbread / ics / custom) and if it's non-custom is it the carrier installed firmware?

    Is it all buttons (volume, power, home, etc) while using the device or just the initial press of a button to get the screen to turn on and to start doing something that is slow?
     
    scary alien likes this.
  5. djlen

    djlen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012

    Nov 13, 2012
    37
    5
    36
    Male
    Somerdale, NJ

    Yes, that is the Model #. Android vers. 2.3.6 I don't know what the other info. your're asking for is available on the phone. I did not install any firmware so I assume it's carrier installed. Yes, it has buttons for home etc. 4 buttons across the bottom of the device face.
     
  6. kemonine96

    kemonine96 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    May 17, 2012

    May 17, 2012
    76
    24
    18
    To be clear: the issue is the devices takes a long time to wake once the screen is off no matter which method you use to wake it up.

    Correct?
     
  7. djlen

    djlen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012

    Nov 13, 2012
    37
    5
    36
    Male
    Somerdale, NJ
    No, the device wakes up immediately when I push the button on the side of it.
    The easiest way to describe it is that when the phone is awake and I push the icon for texting, for instance, there is a 2 or 3 second delay before the texting opens on the screen. It does this for other applications as well.
    Sometimes sliding my finger across the screen to access an alternative desk top it is slow to switch desk tops.
    Just generally sluggish. This is intermittent. Today it's running fairly nicely.

    Regards,
    Len
     
  8. kemonine96

    kemonine96 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    May 17, 2012

    May 17, 2012
    76
    24
    18
    Sounds like you are running low on memory. Look into OS Monitor and keep an eye on your RAM usage and CPU usage with it. It was how I discovered I was running into RAM problems causing the device to run very slow. I ended up upgrading to the Rugby Pro because of the limited RAM of the Rugby Smart.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  9. djlen

    djlen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012

    Nov 13, 2012
    37
    5
    36
    Male
    Somerdale, NJ
    Yeah, I'm finding out that it's a bit under powered for today's apps. but I really like it. Just sluggish.
    I'm also finding that if I shut down some of the extra things that I don't use it does help. I will continue to tinker with it and see what I can do.
    The Pro version is like $100 dollars more and I'm not sure I get that much more phone for that expense.
    Some others have suggested trying different launchers as well so I'm considering that also.

    Regards,
    Len
     
  10. kemonine96

    kemonine96 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    May 17, 2012

    May 17, 2012
    76
    24
    18
    You get a dual core CPU (2x compared) and 1gb ram (2x compared). If you pull up the specs you'll see the rugby pro has doubled specs almost across the board.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  11. djlen

    djlen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012

    Nov 13, 2012
    37
    5
    36
    Male
    Somerdale, NJ
    I just did that and see what you mean. How do you like your Pro
    compared to the first one you had and
    where would you suggest I look for the best price on one?
     
  12. kemonine96

    kemonine96 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    May 17, 2012

    May 17, 2012
    76
    24
    18
    I really like it. Hard to beat in my opinion. As for where to buy, I'm not sure. I bought mine the day it was released off contract.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  13. djlen

    djlen Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012

    Nov 13, 2012
    37
    5
    36
    Male
    Somerdale, NJ
    I'm looking and finding $299 at Amazon and $499 at Best Buy. I'm leary of
    buying any phone from Amazon because frequently they tell you they are
    unlocked and they are not.
    I use Consumer Cellular via AT&T and don't want to buy a phone I won't be
    able to use unless I get an AT&T contract. No more contracts for me.:)
    Maybe I'll keep looking and live with the slowness for now. Sure can't afford
    $500 for a phone at this time.
    Thanks.
     
  14. River Dweller

    River Dweller Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015

    Nov 22, 2015
    6
    0
    15
    Female
    Sorry about other post.
    PLEASE, reconsider the rugby pro# The problem carried over to the pro, that's why I'm here! Uuggghhhh! I knew we should have got iphone, it would have paid for its self by not having so many problems!
     
  15. River Dweller

    River Dweller Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015

    Nov 22, 2015
    6
    0
    15
    Female
    Don't get the pro, read my husbands problems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...