1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Samsung to fix dying galaxy s3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by s3user, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. s3user

    s3user Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012

    Jul 2, 2012
    27
    4
    16

    Advertisement

    Mikestony likes this.
  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Hope so man :thumbup:
     
  3. SAL8116

    SAL8116 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    509
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    509
    91
    108
    Central Florida
  4. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1,482
    200
    143
    student
    north alabama
    i think its more along the lines of the dying motherboards
     
  5. Samsparkin

    Samsparkin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012

    Dec 17, 2012
    8
    0
    5
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Id like to see technical details. I can't imagine how a firmware bug caused my motherboard to need soldering
     
  7. BigCiX

    BigCiX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    3,591
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,591
    363
    173
    California
  8. tmoney51691

    tmoney51691 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012

    Dec 26, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    ^^^^ I know those red lights far too well.
     
  9. Gomjaba

    Gomjaba Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    672
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012

    Nov 8, 2012
    672
    106
    113
    Me 2 - made a killing fixing them :p
     
  10. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Either my music player (PowerAmp which i doubt) is playing up or my sandisk ultrd has been samsunged :( , gota reboot phone between each song!.)
    Been too lazy/drunk to try copyin a song to internal or putin sd in the pc tho lmao...
     
  11. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    .......i watch listen to youtube instead now for anyone imagining me rebooting between tunes btw :thumbup:
     
  12. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    It would seem to have to be a heat/current issue, since the only practical thing to compromise circuits in a physical nature. Adjustments to these type of chips is usually in steps (not a like an analog potentiometer), so seems the only thing they could do is either turn gates off to silicon not be used in the chip (probably none to turn off), or step down the power, which could mean a slower device. Depending on the array set up for the radios, they can also step those down, but also would be a likely performance decrease.

    The red rings of death on the 360 was fixed by shipping with a modded board- not a firmware change. Some capacitor/resistors were too close to the GPU and slowly fried. Well, "popped" could be a better word.
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I undervolt my device to its limit and still had the motherboard die.

    Voltage is configured per frequency step so power is not lost by lowering the power. Each step has it's voltage lowered individually.
     
  14. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    Yes, I did say it tech wrong (trying to be real simple), though the point still remains there are only a few things that can create chip failure and involve marginal changes in heat or current flow.

    Not seeing a firmware fix resolving this. Apparently the 16gb and 32gb have slightly different boards (besides the storage size) since the 16gb is the one reporting to have the problem. There are two contract manufacturers that make the GS3, so perhaps not an issue for all.

    If it is, watch the GS4 get pushed up ;) I guess I am joking.
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yes I'm with you on not seeing a software fix for it..
     
  16. mikeyg00

    mikeyg00 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012

    Dec 28, 2012
    16
    0
    15
    Male
    Mine is locking up constantly... I can yank the battery and get it working.... I wonder if this is a precursor to motherboard death? Did this happen for anyone, prior to dying completely?
     
  17. AndroJOB

    AndroJOB Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011

    Oct 28, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    I think mine just died. Shit! Now what? How is this supposed to get fixed? I didn't buy mine from an official Samsung retailer so I'll have to deal with a non-affiliated repair shop.

    I'm hearing that there's a software fix but how are you supposed to apply the update when your phone's dead? BTW, what are those red rings of death?
     
  18. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    You generally have a 1 yr manufacturers warranty.
     
  19. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    The fix is a work around which acts as a preventative measure.

    Once its dead, its dead
     
  20. silentwitness

    silentwitness Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,095
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,095
    319
    173
    Male
    Bombay India
    Please dont remind of this. Repaired mine about 4 times till it failed completely and had to buy a new one, which failed about 2 times but managed to get them replaced under warranty.
     
  21. dan44762000

    dan44762000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    121
    18
    38
    self employed
    swansea
    pretty sure it is a 2 year warranty from Samsung for this phone in uk .
     
  22. heat57

    heat57 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    731
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    731
    311
    113
    Consultant
    Birmingham, UK
    Yes, correct (for UK and other European Countries)! Not sure about the US. Samsung UK definitely provide a 2 year warranty for 'Smartphones'.

    So anyone with this problem is still well within warranty - the phone was only released in the UK around June of last year, so plenty of time left. :)
     
  23. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    Apparently it is the 16gb version having the problem. Would not have thought there would be such a difference between two for just flash size. Perhaps a specific contract manufacturer location? There are at least two making them.
     

Share This Page

Loading...