1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General San Francisco Wi-Fi In Europe?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Renniks, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. Renniks

    Renniks Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009

    Sep 14, 2009
    186
    2
    56
    Liverpool UK
    Hi all

    My Dad is in Europe and is wanting to use his Phone for the Internet via Wi-Fi only. So before he went I disabled

    Data Roaming

    Cellular Data

    Now when he searches for a new NetWork it tells him he may be charged for Data Roaming???

    Is this just the Phone telling you as a precaution??
    And is it just OK to connect??

    Any help would be Great.....

    Renniks
     

    Advertisement

  2. dannymur

    dannymur Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    360
    153
    68
    Male
    Ireland's Lake Land
    Is it OK to connect to what?

    If you have Mobile Network Settinga/Data enabled.... unchecked..... there will be no Mobile Data....

    It won't matter if Data roaming is checked or not. There is a pop-up warning if you check it, but if Mobile Data is disabled/unchecked, it will not matter.

    The only networks your Dad's phone should search for will be WiFi, if you have it turned on.

    He should use the Power Control widget.... to toggle on/off.
     
  3. Renniks

    Renniks Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009

    Sep 14, 2009
    186
    2
    56
    Liverpool UK
    Danny

    Thank you for your detailed reply Mate!!

    He now has it working!

    He has a PAYG SIM in the Phone which he wants to use to text a few people!!

    Can you give me the detailed way of turning off 'Data Roaming' And 'Mobile Network'

    I could do this if I had the Phone here but if you could help it'd make it easier for him as I'm relaying all this info via Text!!

    It's just so when he's not near Wi-Fi it won't eat his Money Data Wise..

    Thanks

    Lee (Renniks)
     
  4. dannymur

    dannymur Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    360
    153
    68
    Male
    Ireland's Lake Land
    Hi Lee, as I said earlier:

    This means going into Settings...tap Wireless & networks.....tap Mobile networks....this brings you to Mobile network settings page.

    Here you should have Data enabled....unchecked...

    also option to uncheck Data roaming....

    I would also set Network mode to GSM only......

    also be sure Enable always-on mobile data is unchecked

    But, as I also said, the easiest and quickest way to toggle Mobile Data on/off, or WiFi on/off, or Bluetooth on/off, or GPS on/off, is to have Power Control Widget on a Home Screen, or all Home Screens.

    To enable Power Control Widget, simply long-press on any free space on a Home Screen.....Add to Home Screen should pop up.......tap Widgets.....scroll down to select/tap Power Control.

    It should give you something like this:

    [​IMG]

    just see there is no mobile data button on that....it should be a button with two arrows, can't find it atm, will check later, gotta go now!!!

    Gaelic Footie on the telly, All Ireland Final!!!!!
     
    lfc4ever likes this.
  5. Renniks

    Renniks Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009

    Sep 14, 2009
    186
    2
    56
    Liverpool UK
    Danny your the MAN

    Thanks!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...