1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Sanity check needed - setting up a wifi with Nexus

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RedMist, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. RedMist

    RedMist Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009

    Apr 17, 2009
    190
    7
    36
    Bit of a long story, but I'll try to summarise........

    1. PC connected via wire works OK.. Nexus have been working fine since January,

    2. Last few days I was having difficulty accessing my wifi via my Nexus. It would work, then it wouldnt, then it would.... It "connects" gets an ip address, but I can't access anything.

    3. Examining my old router (801.1b!) I accidentally snapped the aerial! I thought maybe it was partly broken anyway, causing the problem, so I bought a new router. (DLINK DIR-615)

    3. Had to delete old connection on Nexus as it was WEP, this uses WAP.

    4. At first, it appeared to work, then it wouldnt, then it would, then it wouldn't. It "connects" gets an ip address, but I can't access anything.

    5. Today, I tried using my N800, and it works fine on the same desk as my Nexus, which doesn't. Just a few feet from the router.

    Any suggestions before I lose all my hair!! I hate networking!

    Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. 1080p

    1080p Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    254
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    254
    60
    73

    This will be a shot in the dark... but I have had similar problems like this... but with PC's. They would be connected to the wifi but not have internet access. Try going into your router's internet settings (WAN settings) and set up the DNS for open DNS by using this set of numbers:

    208.67.222.222
    208.67.220.220



    This may solve your problem with your N1, but if not... keep the settings anyway. It will boost your browsing speeds on all of your PC's and devices.
     
    RedMist likes this.
  3. Viralmind

    Viralmind Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    258
    16
    58
    ok so it works with your nokia, but not your nexus?

    im guessing you setup a home network and created a password for the WAP wireless connection.
    im assuming you also put that password in your phone?

    if you did, sounds like something isnt set right on your n1
     
  4. Viralmind

    Viralmind Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    258
    16
    58
    dont you have to pay for open dns 1080p?

    its a website
     
  5. 1080p

    1080p Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    254
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    254
    60
    73
    It's free. Just add those DNS settings to your router.
     
  6. RedMist

    RedMist Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009

    Apr 17, 2009
    190
    7
    36
    Well I had a feeling it might have been DNS, but as my PC was working find I assumed it was the Nexus.

    What I did was to change the DNS setting in advanced, within the Nexus to 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 (Googles DNS)

    This did not solve the problem.. :(


    EDIT: Sorry I forgot to say I also put these settings in the router.
     
  7. Viralmind

    Viralmind Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    258
    16
    58
    oh shit...thats good. i always thought you had to be pay.

    how much of a difference does it make?
     
  8. tarusdg

    tarusdg Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008

    Nov 9, 2008
    18
    4
    16
    Clinical Therapist
    Smyrna, TN
    i have the same Dlink with WEP encryption and it works great. when i had a wpa encryption would constantly disconnect
     
    RedMist likes this.
  9. Richard371

    Richard371 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    92
    1
    16
    use wap2 instead of wap. fixed my dropped connection prob.
     
    RedMist likes this.
  10. RedMist

    RedMist Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009

    Apr 17, 2009
    190
    7
    36
    Using WEP seemed to worked perfectly. However, it was not secure, so I had a fiddle with the settings and I have updated the setting to be

    802.11g/802.11b (Ignoring 802.11n)

    WPA-Personal

    WPA2 only (Not Auto WPA/WPA2)

    So far so good!

    Thank you very much to everyone who tried to help!

    I still don't know if it's Android or Dlink which is at fault.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...