1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Saved CWM .img to SD, but can't access?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by QR25DE, Jun 24, 2011.

1. QR25DE

QR25DE Newbie
    None

Mar 20, 2011
    Cell Phone Sales
    Western Massachusetts
    This is my first attempt at rooting anything...I'm reasonably intelligent and I have an understanding of how technology works. I've gone through two different tutorials on rooting the NOOKcolor, and get stuck at the same place.

I download the appropriate files to my computer, and I am able to successfully transfer the 1gb_clockwork .img to my SD card. But once I access the SD card from my computer, it won't let me open the drive...it tells me the disk needs formatted. :thinking:

Can anyone help me with this? I can't wait to have this thing rooted, but if I can't access anything on my SD card, it seems futile!!

Thanks!

Advertisement

2. Podivin

Podivin Android Expert

Nov 29, 2009
    Jacksonville, Fl
    I'm not sure which set of instructions you're using, but try using Colchiro's instructions in this thread. He's got different instructions based on whether or not you're already rooted. Be sure and use the ones for not being rooted. If CM7 isn't you're ultimate goal, you can always flash a different ROM after rooting.

http://androidforums.com/nookcolor-all-things-root/352736-how-install-cm7-your-nook-color.html

My GUESS is that you've not formatted the SD to be bootable, but that's just a guess.

3. lunatic59

lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum

Jun 12, 2010
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    You did use WinImage to write the .img file to the sd, right?

4. QR25DE

QR25DE Newbie
    None

Mar 20, 2011
    Cell Phone Sales
    Western Massachusetts
    I followed http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=88qRbLLEAPQ that video, as well as the master "how to root" guide posted within this forum that redirects to the XDA forum.

Probably not...how would I do that?

I believe I used Win32DiskImager...