1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root sbf back to froyo?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tmose04, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. Tmose04

    Tmose04 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010

    Oct 27, 2010
    130
    3
    36
    Verizon sales
    Northern indiana
    rry! I know this has probably been mentioned but I need to know if I can sbf back to froyo after I took the gb ota. I thought you couldn't downgrade your andronoid software.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rick2179

    Rick2179 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    148
    21
    38
    SC
    Yes, you can SBF back to Froyo
     
    Tmose04 likes this.
  3. Indrid Cold

    Indrid Cold Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    159
    1
    36
    North Texas
    I asked the same question in here a few days ago and was told that it is possible. I should mention however that I have not tried to do that as I do not have GB. I was just curious if it were possible if I decided to do the OTA. Given the current uncertainty with rooting GB, I'm thinking of trying the leaked GB for now....just my two cents
     
  4. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,422
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,422
    157
    143
    Right now, SBF'ing back to Froyo, if you need to that is, and flashing TBH's rooted two file GB is the quickest and easiest way to go.
     
  5. Tmose04

    Tmose04 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010

    Oct 27, 2010
    130
    3
    36
    Verizon sales
    Northern indiana
    Well. I tried it about 50 times and im just stuck in a boot loop. Is there a gb sbf file.
     
  6. wb2ibo

    wb2ibo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    36
    2
    36
    Electronic Engineering & Development
    Saratoga and Cambria NY
    Can you get into Droid2 bootstrap mode?
    If so then do a factory wipe reset and that should clear it up.
     
  7. Tmose04

    Tmose04 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010

    Oct 27, 2010
    130
    3
    36
    Verizon sales
    Northern indiana
    phones stock. Not rooted or anything so i dont have bootstrap. I got into stock recovery mode and it wouldnt let me wipe anything. I think the sbf didnt fully work and some files are still missing. Im downloading the GB sbf file right now and ill see how that works
     
  8. Rick2179

    Rick2179 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    148
    21
    38
    SC
    SBF’ing the Droid X U D G
    Go here there are directions to do the sbf of the phone, and links to the spf file you will need, you can't sbf from 2.3.34 to GB
     
  9. Rick2179

    Rick2179 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    148
    21
    38
    SC
     
  10. wb2ibo

    wb2ibo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    36
    2
    36
    Electronic Engineering & Development
    Saratoga and Cambria NY
    Ok since you can get into stock recovery then look here http://androidforums.com/droid-x-al...ootable-linux-cd-soley-sbf-headache-free.html
    Download the iso to SBF into .340 then after SBF you can then root it if you want. At least you will have a functional phone on stock OS.

    The Linux CD is real easy to do.
     
  11. PatHoge

    PatHoge Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    210
    20
    38
    Virginia
    Keep in mind, if you flash the GB SBF file, you will not be able to obtain root access.
     
  12. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    Just SBF to FroYo .340 and root it with Z4, D2 bootstrap (not DX) and load the two-part GB.596 file tat is already rooted, pretty painless at this level. The linux SBF method is much easier than the rest, BTW, and you have an option to make a USB drive bootable to take with you in case you have a droid-crash emergency.
     

Share This Page

Loading...