1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root SBF Solve Some Issues?..

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RWil85, Apr 30, 2011.

  1. RWil85

    RWil85 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    220
    6
    36
    Guys,

    I've been having a couple of problems as of late..

    the most annoying of which being my phone slips into one or two bars of 1x coverage - however, when i toggle airplane mode on/off while sitting in the same spot - the coverage seems to usually come back as 3 or 4 bars of 3G coverage and then seems to slip off..very odd.

    Also, I woke up the other morning with the 'M' Motorola logo stuck on my phone..i took the battery out and that fixed it..it happened again to me earlier today..possibly a boot loop? don't know why that could've been.

    Are these problems common and should I accept them (although I give Verizon $100/month) or would an SBF possibly solve them? Would an SBF be good common practice anyway? I've had Apex 1.4.1 loaded since the day it came out and haven't looked back since.

    Any info/advice would certainly be appreciated. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    218
    5
    36
    Never sbfd before so I can't help you there. I would try doing a factory reset and cache wipe then reflash the rom to see if it clears up any issues. That's helped me out alot in the past with bugs. Also try using rom manager to fix permissions. Don't know if this really helps anything but I usually do it after reinstalling everything. You may have already tried all this but if not, hope it helps.
     
  3. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    I don't mess with ROM manager a lot but I do wholly agree with magic1 on doing a factory reset and cache wipe. It solves many issues without the need to sbf. If the problems continue after wipe, do an sbf. If they continue then, you may need to look at a replacement phone.
     
  4. Raryn

    Raryn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    221
    51
    53
    For the signal issue, try dialing *22899 and update your roaming capabilities. This will generally help.

    The other issue? I have no idea, but if its software related an SBF would fix it, as it is a complete and total reset to stock. Of course, a factory reset would do the same if you're still running on the stock rom with everything blur still enabled.
     
  5. RWil85

    RWil85 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    220
    6
    36
    thanks for the responses..

    add random reboots to my list as I've had two today..i had those prior to flashing apex 1.4.1 and haven't had them in quite some time since..

    i'm thinking I might SBF back to a fresh .340 tonight and then reroot and reflash apex 1.4.1 with the revolution theme over it..

    from what I've gathered - that'll probably be best..
     
  6. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    Though I know that you want to get a custom ROM on your phone ASAP, you may want to hang on the fresh sbf of 2.3.340 so that you can rule out phone hardware issues. If you are running a fresh copy and you still get the same problems, you will know. IF not, you may always think that it is a ROM flashing issue.
     
  7. RWil85

    RWil85 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    220
    6
    36
    very good point..might hang onto stock for a few..

    If i do not..should i skip the account restore, root, then flash apex 1.4.1, then flash my theme over that, THEN finally allow my google account to sync up calendar/contacts/email and re-do all of my apps..OR should I do all of that first and then flash the ROM and them?..does it matter?, sorry if that's a dumb question haha..
     
  8. dennygreen

    dennygreen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    299
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    299
    26
    43
    I've always had the 1x problem no matter which version of android I've had installed. I just recently sbfed back to .340 from the first gb leak and its still doing it. I guess I've accepted that its not going away.
     

Share This Page

Loading...