1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Scenes Work / home

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Pavlyuchenko, Jul 31, 2011.

  1. Pavlyuchenko

    Pavlyuchenko Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Sales assistant
    England
    Is this possible -

    Having a "home" scene that does not use visual pattern lock.

    Having a "work" theme that does.

    I am having issues getting this to work! Seems like you either have lock on or off. I don't need it at home, just at work in case an annoying colleague gets hold of my phone!
     

    Advertisement

  2. alackman

    alackman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    336
    36
    43
    london
    Probably best to use an app to auto switch off screen lock when at home. Tasker would do it for you. I don't know as I don't use sense any more but it might even auto switch your scenes work, home etc.
     
    Pavlyuchenko likes this.
  3. Pavlyuchenko

    Pavlyuchenko Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Sales assistant
    England
    Thanks for the reply.

    You say "sense", I'm thinking you mean HTC Sense, right? What is the difference between that and regular Android? I read somewhere that it's a modified version of Android by HTC? What do you use, a rooted software version?

    Will check out Tasker, thanks.
     
  4. Meh

    Meh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    163
    12
    38
    Sense is HTC's flavour of Android.

    Take Android, change the dock at the bottom of the screen (Sense has main app drawer, phone, and add to homescreen buttons, vanilla Android has app drawer, phone, and browser buttons), change the icons of all apps, add some apps, replace some apps with HTC's version, add some widgets, fiddle a bit more, and you get Sense.

    Samsung do the same and call it TouchWiz. Most other manufacturers do it, to improve (depending on opinion) the user experience and offer the customer summat different to the other manufacturers.
     
    Pavlyuchenko likes this.
  5. alackman

    alackman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    336
    36
    43
    london
    I am not rooted, I've just changed the launcher, so although sense is still on the phone I currently am using go launcher.
     
  6. Pavlyuchenko

    Pavlyuchenko Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Sales assistant
    England
    Forgive me, but what do you mean "launcher"? I'm willing and able to fiddle with stuff, send me in the right direction and I'll be happy! :)
     
  7. alackman

    alackman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    336
    36
    43
    london
    Can be found in the market. Launcher replaces things sense offers by way of dock at bottom of screen, different screen transitions, app draw, etc etc.

    There are quite a few threads on here also about preferred launcher.

    Try one from the market (also get launcher switcher also in market) make sure you leave sense with a clean slate to avoid any widgets still running.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...