1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Screen brightness and vibration problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Inctry, Jun 9, 2011.

1. Inctry

Inctry Lurker
    None

Jun 9, 2011
    Hello All.

I am new to Android, but after two weeks of spending days worth of navigating around, first, the Motorola 2 Global and now the Incredible 2 (because D2 Global was awful and made me almost quit any Android altogether) I am now comfortable with getting around the OS and my Inc2.

So, I've already tried everything I can to get this problem fixed. It's not as big a deal as the others I've had, but I was able to troubleshoot (thanks to this forum and other online sites!) and resolve those problems. This one eludes me.

This problem did not start occurring until I did the first hard factory reset on the phone. Before then, it was not an issue. Or, at least, I didn't notice an issue.

SCREEN BRIGHTNESS:
    I set the screen brightness low (about 20%). But when I restart or power off/on the phone, the brightness goes up to a higher brightness (about 40-50%), which I assume is a default brightness. I had been downloading various apps and had many problems with a number of them and so had been doing multiple factory resets. No matter what, any time I power on/off, the brightness setting will not save and I would always have to go into Settings to reset the brightness level every time.

Then, accidentally, I discovered that if I quickly press the power button twice in a row (essentially putting the phone to sleep and waking it back up), the brightness does return to my setting.

I thought the stock Brightness widget might be trying to take control to force the screen to its default setting and so cleared its cache and even tried to delete the widget. No luck.

Interestingly, if I actually do use the Brightness widget, I again lose my personal setting and have to go back into Settings to reset the level.