1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Screen Capture Apps for non-root

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by psipher, May 28, 2011.

  1. psipher

    psipher Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    42
    7
    26
    Male
    San Diego, CA
    Gingerbread 2.3.3 is supposed to allow Screen Capture without rooting. Are there any apps out yet that work on non-rooted phones?....preferably free ones.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    I moved this thread to the applications forum since you will more than likely get a better response here vs. the tips and tricks of the DX forum. Unfortunately I haven't found any yet.
     
  3. cds0699

    cds0699 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,545
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1,545
    347
    163
    Shenandoah Jct WV
    Android 2.3.3 Makes Screen Shots a Root-Free Affair

    According to the article above, "ShootMe" did an update to allow devices to screen shot without root.

     
  4. Sombre

    Sombre Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011

    Apr 10, 2011
    120
    21
    58
    I.T. Professional
    Canberra, Australia
    You can download Phone Explorer from here which will allow you to take screenshots of your unrooted phone via the PC application. If you use HTC Sync then you'll absolutely love this app.

    Cheers,
    Sombre.
     
    deanamarie likes this.
  5. LinuxBob

    LinuxBob Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011

    Apr 1, 2011
    25
    4
    16
    USA, Earth
    Yes, I use ScreenGrab from XDA forums here. It works great w/o root required on the Atrix.
     
  6. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    Nice work guys. Not even moved an hour and three suggestions. That's why this forum rocks! :p
     
  7. CCRAY

    CCRAY Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    25
    2
    16
    I have a droid X with 2.3.3 Gingerbread, the Shootme app doesnt work for screen captures. It wants me to provide root access before it will work.
     
  8. hpyung

    hpyung Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    i have an incredible s with 2.3.3, and the shootme doesn't work for me either .. neither did the screengrab app :(
     
  9. vosg

    vosg Android Expert
    Rank:
     #133
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,234
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    1,234
    359
    203
    Male
    Software Developer (retired)
    Antwerp, BE
    I just installed the free trial of ASnap on my unrooted Froyo 2.2.1 HTC Wildfire. It works like a charm, but it costs $19.95 which I find rather expensive. But, your income may vary :))
     
  10. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
  11. nsa_sailor

    nsa_sailor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    413
    52
    83
    Engineer
    Wichita
    picme requires root access.
     
  12. UniR

    UniR Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    15
    3
    16
    Should be native, and a simple 2 button feat like on some Samsung flavors or Apple's IOS for that matter.

    No excuse really for not having it.
     
  13. Whiskeypawz

    Whiskeypawz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #302
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    511
    54
    78
    I'm researching on behalf of a friend who's looking for a screen shot app that will work on a non-rooted Droid X. I have ScreenGrab for my Motorola Photon but he says it won't work on his Droid X. I've seen ShootMe referenced but I can't seem to find it in the Market. Does anyone have a link or know of an alternative that will work? Thanks!
     
    ownedbyruth likes this.
  14. itsallgood

    itsallgood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,877
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    1,877
    277
    163
    I use "Screen Shot It" love it. Motorola Atrix.
     
  15. mundane24

    mundane24 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    144
    32
    43
    'screenshot' by Kastor Soft works on my Motorola Triumph even without root. worth a try!
     
  16. wermser

    wermser Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011

    Sep 1, 2011
    1
    1
    6
    As far as I know, you dont need an app for the EVO 3D 4g....just hold down the power button then quickly tap the home button and snap! You should hear a shutter sound and the screen shot will be placed in your photo gallery.
     
    ECPirate37 likes this.
  17. s0ulthi3f

    s0ulthi3f Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011

    Oct 14, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    For the galaxy s its just holding down the back button and quickly pressing the home button. You have to be quick tho!
     
  18. TimWiley

    TimWiley Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    So is there a way to do this on HTC Thunderbolt running 2.3.4 from Verizon?
     
  19. SeekerOfTheWay

    SeekerOfTheWay Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    607
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    607
    80
    78
    Bealls
    Florida
    Wish I could take a screen cap
     
  20. Escondido

    Escondido Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    3
    0
    25
    Los Angeles, CA
    I've got an HD2 running the Nexus 1 software. I used to be able to use screenshot it, but can't anymore :( I downloaded the app that Sombre posted up a little while ago, but it seems to not have worked. When I try click on "other" then profile, it says "connection to phone cannot be established: No device attached to USB" What did I do wrong? I have my phone set up to allow the USB debugging, or whatever it's called. Any help/info is MUCH appreciated, thanks! :)
     
  21. mynetdude

    mynetdude Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    2
    1
    6
    This is infuriatingly frustrating

    why can't they make this work natively? I had shootme on Android and I remember when it didn't work at first and then it magically worked after some updates and I still have shootme but it no longer works on my Evo 4G and the app is gone not even on the market anymore.

    Now I Have the motorola Razr (and before that I had the samsung charge (crap) and the charge had the ability to take screenshots natively (I didn't know it at the time so I would randomly take screenies :p)

    I do not want to have to root why should I? My phone works JUST fine not rooted (other than not being able to take screenshots) I am NOT willing to install a bunch of nonsense drivers that have to be reinstalled each time its restarted anyhow.

    WHY is it SO complicated? I'm thinking iPhone is next when my contract expires. If 2.3.3 makes it possible to take screenshots without root, why can't the apps take advantage of it?

    So I have a couple of useless screenshot apps I bought for other devices they worked on (cuz they don't now) why am I wasting my money?

    I'm not impressed....
     
  22. ricnar456

    ricnar456 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    59
    6
    16
    buy a samsung and you will have screenshot without root only pressing home + back, forget iphone crap.

    ricnar
     
    Rico ANDROID likes this.
  23. regression

    regression Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    1,017
    126
    163
    Male
    Memphis, TN
    That doesn't work with all Samsung phones. I have a Samsung Epic running Gingerbread and the above does not work.
     
  24. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,530
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,530
    22,969
    3,118
    Scotland
    MyPhoneExplorer allows you to take screenshots without root.

    If you have the SDK installed, you can also do it with that, but MPE is way easier.
     
  25. ricnar456

    ricnar456 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    59
    6
    16
    Correction the samsung galaxys have the possibility of screenshot included and samsung galaxy s2 beat any iphone 4, 4s and clean the floor with that little piece of crap, is the best today by far.

    ricnar
    Ios was the best till two year ago , but sleep and now is copying android (notification bar etc), in ios you cannot change your keyboard, launcher, gallery, music player, etc like in an unrooted android without jailbreaking.

    If you have problem for the screen capture without rooting in certain androids, think all the forbidden actions in ios without jailbreak, in android are posibly customize completely without rooting.
     

Share This Page

Loading...