1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Screen Capture not working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sincarafan, May 1, 2013.

  1. sincarafan

    sincarafan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    220
    29
    63
    Male
    Port Richey, FL
    Anyone else having this issue? I checked out some videos on youtube and it seems a lot of others cant get the screen capture feature to work.
    It wont even work on the demo for me and it should be easy. I tried swiping my hand/palm in so many ways and nothing. Cant figure it out. Everything else seems to work ok.
    I checked all settings, etc. so maybe its a bug?



    UPDATE: FIXED SEE POST BELOW
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheyCallMeBT

    TheyCallMeBT Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    580
    61
    78
    Male
    Does power plus volume down work?
     
  3. sincarafan

    sincarafan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    220
    29
    63
    Male
    Port Richey, FL
    Nope
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Power plus home?
     
    iTzKPanda likes this.
  5. karen667

    karen667 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013

    Apr 27, 2013
    16
    1
    16
    UK
    Have you definitely got capture screen turned on in the palm motion menu?
     
  6. iTzKPanda

    iTzKPanda AF's resident panda
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011

    Nov 10, 2011
    1,017
    544
    233
    Male
    Student
    Tampa, FL
  7. sincarafan

    sincarafan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    220
    29
    63
    Male
    Port Richey, FL
    I got it working. Well actually my wife did. lol She couldnt even get the demo to work then out of the blue it started working and is working for me now as well. Sounds like a bug to me.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  8. Poweranimals

    Poweranimals Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    366
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011

    Apr 28, 2011
    366
    10
    38
    How do you take screen captures? I didn't even know you could.
     
  9. sincarafan

    sincarafan Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    220
    29
    63
    Male
    Port Richey, FL
  10. Eric618

    Eric618 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    84
    10
    18
    Scranton, PA
    You mean dragging the side of your hand method? Works fine for me.
     
  11. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    Works for me too but my missus gave it a try and failed. Then again I have warm hands :D
     
  12. Sylon

    Sylon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    230
    30
    63
    Male
    Ohio
    The screen swipe has been working for me but I thought it was a dumb way to take a screenshot. I didn't know about the Power+Home combo, thanks! That's much better.
     
    bobby2478 and EarlyMon like this.
  13. xI MikeC Ix

    xI MikeC Ix Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    Doesnt work for me but the power and home does.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  14. bobby2478

    bobby2478 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    294
    82
    53
    Male
    MN
    It's very finicky, you have to have it enabled in settings and if you don't do it exactly right it treats it like a swype and scrolls the screen. I got it to work, but it doesn't work every time (sometimes it scrolls instead).

    Holding down Home + Power is much better and works every time.
     
    abernardo likes this.
  15. Avaroe

    Avaroe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    I had the same problem and looked at a few forums and have found the answer! To get a screen shot what everyone had failed to point out is that this is NOT an air gesture! the side of your hand needs to be on the screen and then swipe to take the shot, which is why for some it just scrolls the screen- which is an actual air gesture.
     
  16. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan

    its very complicated to swipe palm over the screen try pressing power button and home at same time and it works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...