1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Screen door screen busted

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Rgarner, Apr 14, 2019.

  1. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #143
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    752
    60
    98
    The screen of the screen door has come loose at the top. A cat got stuck to it. Yes, it's a long story. How do I fix it? I would include a photo but it's too big to process. How do I fix THAT?

     

    Advertisement

  2. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,377
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    4,377
    2,382
    818
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    Take it to your local hardware store?
    Duct tape?
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  3. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,919
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,919
    14,948
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Duct tape or glue.
     
    ocnbrze and Dannydet like this.
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,105
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,105
    25,148
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    olbriar, ocnbrze, Rgarner and 3 others like this.
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,943
    Posts:
    24,387
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    24,387
    14,947
    1,943
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yeah at my ace hardware store, i have seen people bringing their screens in to get it fixed.
     
    Rgarner and Dannydet like this.
  6. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #143
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    752
    60
    98
    How would I remove it, though? I would also have to reinsert it somehow. I admit I'm not really enthusiastic about dragging it halfway across town, either. About how much would they charge?
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,943
    Posts:
    24,387
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    24,387
    14,947
    1,943
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  8. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,105
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,105
    25,148
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Take some pix and either post them here but if they are, like you stated, too big to process, upload them to a cloud and post the link to them.
    Is the screen part of the door and not removable in and of itself? If so, just remove that "cord-looking" spline, move the screen back into position and reinsert the spline using the blunt end of a spoon handle or something.
     
    Rgarner, ocnbrze and olbriar like this.
  9. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,484
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,484
    2,899
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin and programmer
    /home/LosAngeles
    Call a good handyman/woman. That's what I'd do. My current handyman has been doing all my projects for years, probably 10 years or so, and there's NOTHING he can't do!

    Are you on NextDoor? It's a wonderful site for communicating with verified people in your specific neighborhood. They have a nice Android app. You can post asking for recommendations for a good...whatever you're looking for, in this case a handyman. I highly recommend joining, for everyone.
     
    #9 MoodyBlues, Apr 14, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2019
    Rgarner and ocnbrze like this.
  10. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #143
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    752
    60
    98
    I don't know why the pix are suddenly "too big". I've posted them on AF before without any trouble. This is just a photo of the screwed up screen. Anyway, it is part of the door. There's a window above it and then the screen, not very big, and then the bottom of the door, which is metal.
     
  11. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,484
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,484
    2,899
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin and programmer
    /home/LosAngeles
    It's a glitch. Try resizing the image--40 or 50% has been working for me.

    Oh--be sure to post on the 'feedback' board, either in my existing thread or a new one. They need to know it's still happening.
     
    Rgarner likes this.
  12. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #143
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    752
    60
    98
    Has this been a problem for others? That's too bad. How do I resize the image? I guess I would have to do that before I "upload file". By the way, when I tried to view your latest post in this thread, I couldn't except by going to the email alert and taking it ftom there. Is that another glitch?
     
  13. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,484
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,484
    2,899
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin and programmer
    /home/LosAngeles
    Yes, it's an ongoing glitch that started when gremlins appeared. :)

    Use an image-editing program to resize the image. On my Linux computers, I use the GIMP, which I believe is available for other OSes. On Android devices, I use F-Stop Gallery Pro.

    What you want to do is find its 'resize image' function. You should have a choice whether to resize by percentage or pixels. Use percentage, and try 50%. Save it with a different name unless you don't care about overwriting the original. If you still get the 'too large to process' error here, go back to the original and try 40%. And so on.
    Not to my knowledge. :thinking:
     

Share This Page

Loading...