1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Screen has gone black

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NewArtDroid, Apr 16, 2016.

  1. NewArtDroid

    NewArtDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #341
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013

    Apr 26, 2013
    181
    22
    38
    Male
    New York City area
    I don't know what I was doing today but I hit some buttons and suddenly the screen has gone black. I've been able to turn the phone off, and turn it on, but I have a black screen. I removed the front cover Skinomi screen protecter. I know it is working because I can say "OK Google Now" and issue commands to call people. But nothing on the screen. I hope this is not the end of my phone? Please help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,002
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,002
    4,970
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    With it powered on ... press and hold the power button.
    After 10-12 seconds the Motorola logo should appear and it should vibrate.
    Release the power button.
    This is similar to the old "battery pull" in older phones.

    Is it back to normal?

    ... Thom
     
  3. NewArtDroid

    NewArtDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #341
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013

    Apr 26, 2013
    181
    22
    38
    Male
    New York City area
    I tried and it vibrates, but it doesn't show anything on the screen.

    I took it to an IFixIt store and he took is apart. He found a lot of dust and cleaned that off. He also unhooked the battery. However, after putting it back together, it still didn't show. He says he could tell my LCD screen was replaced last year and he said the brand they used isn't the best. He think that went out, but it's $125 and special order to fix it. Or get a new phone. I posted before about battery problems and I have noticed other problems too. So maybe it is time now for a new phone? I am going on a trip tomorrow too. He recommended I visit a Best Buy for the best deals. I've contemplated a Droid Turbo, or perhaps, this same Droid Maxx since I liked it so much.
     
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,002
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,002
    4,970
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    You will like the Turbo more. You will like the Turbo 2 even more. (I have gone through all three.)

    On my Maxx the buttons on the main display stopped wok king suddenly. I had no idea why. I assumed a hardware problem and I should get it replaced. In preparation for the trip to Verizon t to get it replaced I did a Factory Data Reset. The problem went away and never came back.

    This might or might not be similar to your problem.

    ... Thom
     
  5. NewArtDroid

    NewArtDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #341
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013

    Apr 26, 2013
    181
    22
    38
    Male
    New York City area
    So I looked up how to do a factory reset. I held the up button for awhile, and then hit the power button. I did hear some noicss and then tried to move it up or down, and heard things since I couldn't see. I hit power button on of them. But I don't think it reset. This is where I miss the Bionic where I could just plug in via micro HDMI to see the screen somewhere else. This has MiraCast, but without the screen, I can't turn it on!
     
  6. NewArtDroid

    NewArtDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #341
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013

    Apr 26, 2013
    181
    22
    38
    Male
    New York City area
    Also, is it Droid Turbo or Droid Turbo 2.

    I plugged and I can see the files. I just don't know what is wrong. And my OK Google Now isn't calling people anymore. Last time it did was around noon today.
     
  7. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,002
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,002
    4,970
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Since you could see nothing when trying to do power off Factory Data Reset I assume it is a pure hardware problem.

    (FWIW the Turbo 2 is the best phone I have ever used. A Motorola phone with a great camera ... unbelievable. Shatterproof screen. 3GB. Fast [much faster than the Maxx]. New Verizon plan where you buy it on installment with no interest.)

    ... Thom
     
  8. NewArtDroid

    NewArtDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #341
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013

    Apr 26, 2013
    181
    22
    38
    Male
    New York City area
    Posting this with new Turbo 2. I went ahead and paid full price. I recently changed my Verizon contract but we have unlimited minutes with limited data and no contract I guess.
     
    doogald and Thom like this.
  9. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,002
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,002
    4,970
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Good move. I think you will really like the improvements.

    ... Thom
     
  10. NewArtDroid

    NewArtDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #341
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013

    Apr 26, 2013
    181
    22
    38
    Male
    New York City area
    So I went out of town with my Turbo. I still like Maxx better, but will post that on the other forum. As for Maxx, hasn't been charged for a week and the alarm still goes off every morning. So working phone, except screen doesn't work and battery still hasn't run out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...