1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Screen lock delay in Galaxy S2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by anuj.aggarwal, Oct 21, 2011.

  1. anuj.aggarwal

    anuj.aggarwal Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I am facing a very annoying problem from the day I configured my Galaxy S2 for my official mails. I need to password / pin protect my phone without which I can not enable this service on my phone.

    This is understood but I could not find a way in Android 2.3.3 by which the time can be configured after which the phone gets locked. In my phone, there is only one setting which controls the screen timeout (max 10 min). But there is no separate control (like iPhone) which you can use to delay the phone getting locked as well for some extended time.

    I tried moving to XXKI3-2.3.5 as well but no result. I am losing hope now. Please help!!!!!

    Unfortunately, this option is present in Galaxy S2 Epic 4G Touch which runs 2.3.4 but even after moving to 2.3.5, I am not able to do so.
     

    Advertisement

  2. bgoody

    bgoody Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009

    Aug 18, 2009
    127
    6
    36
    Try Ripple Lock. I think it does that and also the screen .comes on instantly.
     
  3. anuj.aggarwal

    anuj.aggarwal Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    This won't help as my company policy forces me to have pin / password lock only. Even the pattern lock will be disabled as soon as I configure my mail client.

    I need some control like iPhone where the phone does not get locked for a configurable amount of time. My colleagues use that and it allows them to keep the phone unlocked as long as they want.

    Am I clear now?
     
  4. bgoody

    bgoody Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009

    Aug 18, 2009
    127
    6
    36
    Perhaps. If you go into the settings of Ripple Lock, you can set up the Lockscreen password. Then there is another setting elsewhere for how long the screen stays on before it goes to sleep.
     
  5. anuj.aggarwal

    anuj.aggarwal Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I have to try that but want to confirm with someone if possible.

    Any idea if rooting helps in this? I am willing to do that as well.
     
  6. Remeniz

    Remeniz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    399
    46
    43
    Computer Tech & Audio Engineer
    Peterborough - UK
    I use No Lock from the market. And place the lock icon on my home screen...

    This way, when i'm using my phone a lot I can just click on the lock icon, and disable the phone lock, instead of it locking (and entering the password) every minute, to use the phone again.

    When I know i'm not going to use the phone for I while I enable the lock.
     
  7. anuj.aggarwal

    anuj.aggarwal Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Looks like I found a solution. Now in "Location and Security", I am seeing an additional Timeout setting in "Screen Unlock Settings" which gives me an option of choosing a lock timeout after the screen timeout occurs. This is what I was looking for months now and I am glad that after moving to 2.3.5, I am able to find so.

    Hurrah !!!!
     
  8. Remeniz

    Remeniz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    399
    46
    43
    Computer Tech & Audio Engineer
    Peterborough - UK
    I don't have this option in 2.3.3....

    :rolleyes:
     
  9. BushNo10

    BushNo10 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    10
    0
    35
    I can't see this either..
     
  10. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    I am using widgetsoid. It is a customizable widget. One of the buttons is Screen On which keeps the screen on all the time. I use it when I am using GPS because if I don't the screen will dim and switch off after a while. Might do the same thing in this case.
     

Share This Page

Loading...