1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Screen On for Text/2 GMail Accounts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jdsingle, Apr 26, 2012.

  1. jdsingle

    jdsingle Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    760
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    760
    181
    93
    Two questions ladies & gentlemen. First, is there anyway to have my display turn on when text messages are received with the stock messaging application?

    Second question, I had to switch over to a different gmail account. My previous one is used for all my market purchases and what not. I would like to switch so that the phone only uses the new email email address for calendar, gmail, phone contacts, and what not. I understand that I still have to do something with the second account because I cannot transfer my app purchases which I am fine with. I understand I can have the contacts only display contacts for one email but for some reason it saves new contacts to the old email and also when I type in names on messages it brings up both sets of contact lists. Any thoughts? I have searched around and most of the info I read isn't giving me a definitive answer here.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Not sure if the stock SMS app can do this. I know the third party ones can.

    Settings > Accounts > Select your market account > uncheck everything. When you create new accounts, download new apps, etc etc, make sure your new account is selected. In the market, push menu and an option for Accounts is there, make sure that's set to the right one. It just takes a little attention to detail. I use 2 email accounts, too. One is my market account, one is my social account. I don't have any problems having them run separately.

    However, if you're just now adding the account and you want it to be the default account the phone selects for everything, you're going to have to do a factory reset and log in with this new account first, else the other one will be the default in everything and there's no way I know of (other than FR) to select another account as primary.
     
  3. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,531
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,531
    8,435
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Stock SMS no not possible that I am aware of, like J mentioned there are many 3rd party apps that do though, and J answered the other question for you, I have 5 Gmail accounts on the phone for business and personal and they all work fine.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...