1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Screen requires double tap to turn on

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kdias, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. kdias

    kdias Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Hi guys, I searched around and couldn't find an answer so decided to ask here.

    I recently lost my evo 3D and bought a new one to replace it. I noticed after a while that when the phone's screen has been off for a while (i.e. about 30-45 seconds or more) whenever it comes on, it is completely dark. If you look carefully, you can see the menu, icons, etc, however to turn the screen on I have to click the power button twice (re lock the screen, and then unlock it again).

    This applies to any scenario where the screen turns off, including clicking the power button to unlock, receiving a call/text, or even if i'm talking on the phone to someone for a while (i.e. the screen turns off when up to my face) and then I go to use the screen.

    Oddly enough, just a quick "off-and-on" makes the screen spring to life as if nothing is wrong.

    This has happened since I unboxed it. I thought it might be an OS glitch so I rooted and flashed a custom ROM, and nothing. In fact, I even noticed it happening in the bootloader menu when I was rooting.

    Could this be hardware? If so, why does relocking and unlocking work to turn it back on every time?


    Thanks for your help guys!
     

    Advertisement

  2. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,778
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,778
    3,758
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    If this was happening pre-root, it's definitely a hardware issue.

    That's just like in my old 3vo, faulty digitizer, sometimes I'd have that ghost touch, and sometimes it wouldn't.

    Smart phones hardware works in mysterious ways.

    The way you explained it, it somewhat sounds like there is a short somewhere underneath.

    How long have you had this replacement? If not too long, I'd unroot and send back to asurion or whoever replaced your phone and nicely ask for another. :)

    Or another thing, you could take it into a sprint repair store and see what they could do for you.

    DS
     
  3. kdias

    kdias Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    I was afraid of that :[. I've only had it a few days, got it right from V-Mobile. The one thing that gets me though is that it's incredibly consistent; as in, whenever it happens, if the screen is turned off and on it always works normally from then on. and then it only comes up again if the screen is off for an extended period of time. well, guess I'll be dealing with customer service again...
     
  4. kdias

    kdias Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    my previous evo, i bought with a cracked screen and replaced it myself so I wouldn't be afraid to open it up if it's a simple fix. however I wouldn't want to do that and void the warranty if it wouldn't work, of course...

    Also, would a Sprint store help me with my Virgin Mobile phone? i know it's the same network but not so sure how the rest of it works...
     
  5. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,778
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,778
    3,758
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    Ohh an Evo V 4g, im actually not sure if they will since it's not an actual sprint phone.

    Well all I can say is get a hold of customer service and hope for the best.

    I've also moved your thread into the proper forum "Htc Evo V 4G"

    DS
     
  6. Hollaback12786

    Hollaback12786 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    198
    19
    38
    Connecticut
    Yeah sprint won't do anything but I hear virgin mobile is good when it comes to sending replacement phones.

    And to the OP, I'd call customer service or better yet email saveme@thevirginangels.com
     
  7. kdias

    kdias Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    So they'll be sending me a replacement. now i just have to unroot this one... great -_-. thanks for your help guys.
     
  8. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    There's no need really, Virgin checks the meid to tie it to your account and then flashes a stock image both to get the phone back to a known state for troubleshooting and to remove customers information. I've sent back over 6 phones that were rooted and rommed without any problems. Good luck. OB :D
     
  9. kdias

    kdias Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013

    Jan 18, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    oh... well that makes things easier. so you're saying I won't get an email saying i wasn't covered under warranty since I rooted?
     
  10. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    Not in my lengthy experience exchanging rooted phones on Virgin, plus many others have posted the same experience. Virgin is like the only carrier that doesn't require the original phone before replacement or at least putting a hold on your card for cross shipping. :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...