1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Screen Shot Gingerbread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Pep, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. Pep

    Pep Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #226
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    491
    216
    68
    Qld, Australia
    Hi All

    Now that Gingerbread is rolling out.
    Is there still no way to take a screenshot without rooting?

    Pep
     

    Advertisement

  2. Sombre

    Sombre Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011

    Apr 10, 2011
    120
    21
    58
    I.T. Professional
    Canberra, Australia
    You shoulda done a search before posting. Anyway, apparently ShootMe can now screenshot without rooting. The PC application MyPhoneExplorer can take screenshots of the attached phone. Pretty sure there are also other methods. Use the search function, never know what gems of wisdom you may discover.

    Cheers,
    Sombre.
     
  3. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,695
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,695
    23,279
    3,118
    Scotland
    It can be done using the Android SDK, but it's probably easiest done (As Sombre has mentioned) via MyPhoneExplorer.
     
  4. Pep

    Pep Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #226
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    491
    216
    68
    Qld, Australia
    Thanks Sombre and i did do my research before posting.
    Screenshot still does not work on the Desire HD without rooting, it wouldn't let me install it cause my fone isn't rooted. (As an Australian i'm still struggling to think that rooting my fone is a good thing!!)
    MyPhoneExplorer works great and i use it when connected to the PC, I'm more after a quick screen shot just using the phone.

    Pep
     
  5. Sombre

    Sombre Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011

    Apr 10, 2011
    120
    21
    58
    I.T. Professional
    Canberra, Australia
    I too, am an Australian, and am very happy that I rooted my phone. I was able to get rid of all that ugly Vodafone bloatware, upgrade to 2.3.3 (which I think might be available to all DHD owners now). Able to try different ROMs although I have decided to stick with the stock 2.3.3 Sense ROM (without bloatware).

    P.S. I didn't mean to sound nasty when I suggested searching. I know this question has been asked lots but I'm unaware how good the search function is on these forums as I just tend to browse.

    Cheers,
    Sombre.
     
  6. Pep

    Pep Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #226
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    491
    216
    68
    Qld, Australia
    All good mate, takes more than that to upset me.
    I will be rooting my fone in a while, but for the moment still happy to learn more.

    Until then i guess there's noway to take a screen shot only using the fone.

    Pep

    ps love your avatar
     

Share This Page

Loading...