1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Screen shot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HTTR, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. HTTR

    HTTR Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    474
    59
    53
    Male
    Virginia
    I searched and could not find a thread for this phone, is there a way to take a screen shot on a non rooted Razr? All the apps I have used in the past require root and I did not see anything built in to do this.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    There is nothing built in. I have not tried using one not requiring root.
     
  3. HTTR

    HTTR Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    474
    59
    53
    Male
    Virginia
    Thanks, there are a few in the market, but all have horrible reviews. It has been so long since I had a stock phone I took this for granted!:p
     
  4. Adauth

    Adauth Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,664
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    1,664
    204
    163
    Male
    Oil and gas industry.
    New Orleans
  5. WilburNJ

    WilburNJ Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    23
    6
    16
    I use "No Root Screenshot It" as well. It works, but is a bit of a hassle for two reasons:

    1. If you shut off your phone, you need to re-initialized the software to make it functional again, which means connecting it to a PC or Mac.

    2. It's a bit slow. After you capture the screen, it takes a few seconds for a menu to pop up that asks you if you want to save it, share it, etc. I would prefer that it just gets saved immediately so I can just get on with life after snapping the screenshot.

    Otherwise, it's a great solution to a ridiculous oversight by motorola.
     
  6. Adauth

    Adauth Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,664
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    1,664
    204
    163
    Male
    Oil and gas industry.
    New Orleans
    1. - yea thats true but that only takes a few seconds, besides I rarely turn off my phone.

    I have not experienced any lag after snapping the screen shot? It pops up almost instantly for me.
     
  7. HTTR

    HTTR Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    474
    59
    53
    Male
    Virginia
    I do shut off my phone so that would be tough for me. I have yet to find an app that wuill work non rooted. The closest that I can find is Dolphin screen shot.
     
  8. fatpomp

    fatpomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    272
    114
    68
    Male
    Welder/Fabricator
    Los Angeles, Ca
    Try Screen Grabber. Others have tried it and said it works on the bionic without root so maybe it will work for the razr too. You have to go into the Advanced Options part of the setup and disable the "Requires root access." if you're not rooted to get it to work.

    https://market.android.com/details?...sMSwxLDEsImNvbS5taW5kcGhhemUuc2NyZWVuZ3JhYiJd
     
  9. HTTR

    HTTR Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    474
    59
    53
    Male
    Virginia
    Thanks..it does not work on the Razr.. :(

    It really bugs me that I cannot screen shot unless rooted.
     
  10. ebdozit

    ebdozit Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    65
    7
    26
    Medical Dosimetrist
    Heart of So Cal
    Its frustrating that there isnt a way to screenshot. Especially, when it was so easy on the nexus that i returned
     
  11. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #181
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73
    Why doncha just root? It's fast, easy, and best of all if your worried about warranty, completely reversible.
     
  12. AVSkillet

    AVSkillet Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    93
    10
    18
    Male
    Electrician
    Southern California
    That's another reason this phone needs ICS. taking a screen shot is going to be built into the Android software, not making root necessary. Until then, it's complicated.
     
  13. HTTR

    HTTR Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    474
    59
    53
    Male
    Virginia
    I.rooted my last phone. I looked at the guides, but am still a little unclear as far as the process. Let me track down all the files and see what is involved.
     
  14. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    I was confused at first, too not knowing the moto way... Rooting took about 5 minutes. Was the easiest root I've done, by far.
     
  15. HTTR

    HTTR Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    474
    59
    53
    Male
    Virginia
    I will look for those step by step instructions..I like those!
     

Share This Page

Loading...