1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Screen shots...how to questions...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sushifor5, Nov 24, 2011.

  1. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    I downloaded Screen Shot after reading briefly about it here...I've been impressed with everyone's ability to take screenshots of their phones and wanted to be able to do the same, LOL.

    So, I took a couple test shots of my first homepage, but have some questions...

    1) How do you take a screenshot of something you're looking at on your phone when you have to go back into the app drawer to open the screenshot app? How do you get to the actual page/screen you want to capture?

    2) I see the folder for screen shot when i look in androzip, but when i plug phone into computer and look at the files, shreenshot folder isn't there...is it hiding in another folder I need to know about?

    3) how do you actually do anything with the captures...like email them or post them online?

    TIA!
     

    Advertisement

  2. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    If you are running an IHO ROM, you don't need an app, just long press the power button and select screenshot. You even get the option to share the screenshot immediately via Bump, Dropbox, Email, Messaging, Photobucket, and Picasa. ;)
     
  3. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    Ah, very cool...not to IHO yet...just working my way into Harmonia as a ROM newbie idiot, LOL. Someday....

    If you have any input on Screen shot, i'd be glad for it...Thanks! :)
     
  4. G19

    G19 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    648
    102
    93
    Skip the inferior roms and just download backside cm7.
     
    Petrah likes this.
  5. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL

    Quoted for truth.
     
  6. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    There should be a setting to put it in the notifications bar then you pull down pick l push it and it takes the shot. You share it just like any other image. It may be under the dcim folder
     
    sushifor5 likes this.
  7. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    I know, I know, LOL...you guys think I'm nuts...but I'm just chicken. :p

    I have spent SO much time learning this V and this entire realm, and customizing my screens and launcher and apps and I have so much on my phone right now that I'm still dreading doing any custom ROM and having to build the whole thing all over again...my free hours are dwindling...heehee Kids, life, work, studies, no more free brain space.

    I really need to start with a ROM that is close to what I'm currently used to so I don't need to learn new things right now, if that makes sense. THis is my first smartphone and my very first (ever in my life) dabbling into computer/software/hacking, whatever you call it.

    so bear with me, friends! :D
     
  8. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    Harmonia is a great ROM, one of the top 5 ever put together for the OV imho. No reason to leave it, I just don't know about that particular app. Sorry to have cluttered your thread with non-answers. ;)
     
  9. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    No more chicken than I was at first! I swore I would never root... then I rooted. Then I swore I would never rom.... then I did. I did like I do when I watch a scary movie. I peeked through my fingers, and held my breath too!

    Harmonia was the first one I flashed as well (and call me an airhead but I couldn't find a file manager or the market in that one). I had it for all of 5 minutes and then flashed Bob's rom. I fiddled with that for a bit then got braver and flashed Jerry's. Haven't looked back since. I shoulda flashed his right from the start lol.

    Honestly, you can run BACKside and not really tinker with the CM settings area at all. Jerry did a great job at putting the settings in there where they would work for anyone. Simply fiddle with the normal phone settings that you are familiar with, and then go from there. That's what I did. ;)
     
  10. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    Not a problem at all...I actually enjoy the discourse and I like learning more and more about the other options...I value the input, even if it isn't something I will act upon presently. Cheers! :D

    Edit: Jerry, I'm looking at your BACKside ROm and reading a bit in the most recent threads (trying to familiarize myself with the ROM), and I'm seeing people say the boot animation doesn't work...I'm not sure what that means exactly, but I'd hate to flash my very first custom ROM and have something I don't understand begin to happen to my phone and then get freaked out, LOL.

    Anything I should know about the latest version of your ROM if I'm going to attempt it? TIA!
     
  11. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    Hmmmm...you do make a compelling case (you keep doing that in my threads, LOL)....

    OK, would you like to play "adopt a newbie" and be my guide? If you can walk me thru various issues and operations, I would feel braver...I know it's a lot to ask. Think about it. ;) (We 40-ish moms need to stick together, haha...NOT that I'm excluding help from others...you are ALL awesome!)
     
  12. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    The boot animation is just an image that's animated that plays when you turn on the phone or restart it. It's a pretty neat one, too. Here's what it looks like... the circular thingy is animated and goes in circles.

    [​IMG]

    What they mean by broken... it kinda hiccups and the animation stops. However, it still boots up even though it appears to be stuck. I timed mine.. booted up from that screen in aprox 3 1/2 minutes after I flashed the update. Right now for regular restarts it takes about 2 minutes or so. If you flash Jerry's rom and it takes more than 7 or 8 minutes, just pull the battery and reflash the rom again. Sometimes a flash will go wonky and you just need to redo it (I only have that happen if I don't flash gapps so now I flash gaps each and every rom update).

    Sure! Keep in mind I'm still a bit of a newbie myself hehe. ;)
     
    sushifor5 likes this.
  13. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho

    Well you are way ahead of me, lol! Ok, I'm going to stick to flashing harmonia first so I can get comfy with the process. Hope it goes well; I'm nervous...but if it does, I'll probably get bold and want to try cm7, so you'll get questions, no doubt! :)
     
  14. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Have no fear! If you follow the guides here carefully, the chances of messing up your phone are quite small. Also, the members here are very helpful when you do run into a snag, so help is never far away. After you become more comfortable with the process, you will find yourself able to reflash and be back up and running in under a half an hour. Personally, I thinks its fun and a much more entertaining experience than most video games. But then again, I'm old. ;-)
     
  15. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    I added some info re harmonia and iho in your other nandroid thread before I realized you'd started a new one.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...