1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support Screen time out during calls

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Futureboy67, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. Futureboy67

    Futureboy67 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Just got a new Galaxy Note II. The other day during calls the screen was timing out as it should when holding it to my ear. It is no longer doing so and is rather annoying. Is there a setting I may have inadvertently changed? I have looked all over but can find nothing. I have searched the forums a bit but may not have worded my search properly. Any help would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ScandaLeX

    ScandaLeX Wasn't Me
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,829
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    3,829
    966
    223
    Female
    PhiLLy

    From the dialpad screen
    • Menu
    • Settings
    • Auto screen off during calls (check)

    Hope that helps.
     
    Futureboy67 likes this.
  3. Futureboy67

    Futureboy67 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    That was a setting I hadn't checked. But... It was already properly checked. :(
     
  4. Futureboy67

    Futureboy67 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Tried the easiest thing of all and restarted it. Took care of the problem. Should have tried that first. Sorry for wasting your time!
     
  5. Bodestone

    Bodestone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012

    Jan 17, 2012
    387
    68
    53
    It's not a waste. The subject is now here for others to search on if they have a similar issue. It does raise an interesting thing though. And I hate to go all IT Crowd on folks but "Have you tried turning it off and on again?" is not just PC specific. My parents waited 4 months for me to get home and look at their digibox. I popped the cable in and out. Job's a goodun.

    Sometimes a fluctuation in the transperambulation of pseudo cosmic antimatter will cause something to fail unexpectedly and a restart will fix it for the foreseeable future. Such fluctuations are rare however and so repetition of said errors will warrant further investigation.

    If you do re-encounter such a situation as mentioned it may be that you have other software present that utilises the proximity sensor (one of the 2 holes between the front camera and the earpiece speaker bar) and that software had caused a lock.

    If software is not the issue then I suggest checking for some of the following (not necessarily in order): phone shrimp, microscopic mischief monkeys, intelligent lint, contagious confetti, dastardly dark stuff, explosive earwax, clumsy thumbs. In short, anything that can block the proximity sensor.
     
    Futureboy67 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...