1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support screen turning black issue ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by iBleedBlackNgold, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    367
    11
    38
    is any1 having the issue where the screen goes black in middle of use after a momentary pause but the soft keys are lit up and nothing can be done to wake up screen yet keys stay lit & only thing to solve issue is pulling battery as a means to soft reset phone ? i already hard reset device cuz of this & phone is 100% stock including zero market apps
     

    Advertisement

  2. Android XTC

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    442
    42
    43
    Feature Motion Picture Production
    Downers Grove, IL.
    Yes this has happened to me. Its the proximity sensor if you hold the screen to the light it should come back on.
     
  3. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    367
    11
    38
    ill try it next time it happens .... after this post it froze on the browser and required a battery pull ... i cant win lol
     
  4. acasalin

    acasalin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    26
    2
    16
    My Epic is going back tomorrow for a replacement...Constantly locking up and bricking with the bottom key lights on and no response. I also have to take battery out and replace it...Happens in dark and sunlight...no matter.

    At first I thought it was due to market live wallpapers, but it began to do it on static wallpapers also...and it is happening more often...the phone is trwo weeks old.

    It happens when the phone goes into sleep mode by itself...it bricks when I attempt to wake it up.

    Took it to a Sprint Service store...the technician didn't believe me and told me to get rid of the advanced task killer...I did in the store...and as I was walking out..it bricked ! lol !...He ordered me a replacement saying its the first one he's seen do it !

    After searching this bug on the net...it seems that others are having the same problem...I wonder if Sprint knows...and is providing a fix...it sure seems like software issues...this is a great phone...I'd hate to switch to an EVO
     
  5. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    367
    11
    38
    i swapped it first thing yesterday morning .... my phone was starting to act in many other strange ways .. my issues cant be related to any issue other then phone itself as i never ever dl any market apps, unrooted & 100% stock
     
  6. Markus729

    Markus729 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    305
    31
    43
    Male
    Digital Design Strategy
    Mile High City
    Mine has just started to do this to me after swiping to unlock. I think I can attribute the only difference being that I've added a few apps, but it sounds like this happens when you don't have any apps, too.

    Is this the start of something bad? Do I need to replace my phone?
     
  7. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    367
    11
    38
    hard resets didnt fix my issue so it wouldnt hurt to go get a swap .. they offered me a dif model device since this is epic #4 in 3 weeks but i opted to tough it out.
     
  8. badankles

    badankles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    972
    90
    98
    USA
    if after hard reset (and you didn't reinstalled any apps) and still happens, then i agree it's a problem with the phone. this happened to be once, and it was because i installed a non-compatible app.
     
  9. Markus729

    Markus729 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    305
    31
    43
    Male
    Digital Design Strategy
    Mile High City
    I noticed this problem, after turning on my phone the last 2 mornings...

    Well, for me, I think I resolved the issue, but it may be coincidental. I create my own wallpaper designs and my screen would go black (sometimes with nothing on the screen, sometimes all black by my home screen icons would be visible. I replaced my wallpaper with a stock one, and it came back instantly. No more black screen, and I didn't remove battery or turn it completely off. It's been a few hours and no problems.
     
  10. fsnoles

    fsnoles Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I've had the same issue the past 2 days. Got the phone on Saturday. (I actually got 2 - one for me and one for my wife.) My wife's was fine, but mine has been locking up in the morning when I unlock. Blue LED is on indicating the battery is fully charged. Soft keys are lit. Screen is black. Nothing responds. Had to do a batter pull the past 2 days. If it happens again tomorrow morning, I'm going back to get a new one.
     
  11. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    367
    11
    38
    dont hesitate .... with my most recent issue i didnt even pull the battery i kept it as is and went to the sprint store with the issue. but this was more then the black screen
     
  12. Flaspeneer

    Flaspeneer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    207
    24
    38
    Male
    Writer, Studio Musician, Editor
    I experienced occasional slowing and lockups after telling Launcher Pro to revert to default settings on a new Epic that was using the old SD card. Shortcuts to apps that weren't even on the current phone reappeared. Everything went back to normal after I reset the phone and created a new default setting.

    I suppose someone who's more knowledgeable might have identified the incorrect setting file and deleted it. Since my phone was slowing down already, I didn't want to take a chance on deleting the wrong thing and creating more issues.
     
  13. acasalin

    acasalin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    26
    2
    16

    got my new Epic today after returning old because of lockups...but what you say may be right....I had a screen protector on the old phone, which may have blocked the proximity sensor....maybe I shouldn't put a screen protector on the new phone...its working great.
     

Share This Page

Loading...