1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Screen won't time out

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jbsg02, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. jbsg02

    jbsg02 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    190
    12
    38
    I did the update today, and now my screen won't time out automatically. Anyone else have this problem? Anyone have a solution?
     

    Advertisement

  2. nahpungnome

    nahpungnome Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    187
    29
    43
    Software Developer
    Los Angeles, CA
    Try a hard reset (pull battery).

    Also check your screen timeout settings.
     
  3. TheManRSW

    TheManRSW Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    71
    13
    18
    I just shut the phone down using the power button and turn it back on. Works for me.
     
  4. LisaFitz

    LisaFitz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    167
    13
    58
    Teacher
    NY
    Had the same problem, rebooted and changed it to 15sec and it worked again, now back to 30sec timeout, weird ... :eek:
     
  5. jbsg02

    jbsg02 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    190
    12
    38
    I rebooted and it worked for a little bit then happened again
     
  6. nahpungnome

    nahpungnome Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    187
    29
    43
    Software Developer
    Los Angeles, CA
    Sounds like you have an app running that's keeping your phone from timing out. Use SystemPanel to check what you have running.
     
  7. jbsg02

    jbsg02 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    190
    12
    38
    I think it is the swype installer not letting it sleep. I forced stopped that (Swype Installer, not Swype) and it seems to have solved it and swype still works as it should.
     
  8. nomunk

    nomunk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    232
    22
    38
    this worked for me also when i had that same problem
     
  9. jbsg02

    jbsg02 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    190
    12
    38
    Yes that worked at first, but every time I reboot I have to uninstall and reinstall swype. After doing that the screen wouldn't time out.
     
  10. keepitunder80

    keepitunder80 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    I've had my EVO since launch and until this last week it has worked great. From time to time, not consistently, the screen only dims and fails to time out. At night the screen will occasionally turn itself on, dimmed of course, and drain the battery (this happens both while charging and while unplugged). After the first couple times I turned the phone off, briefly removed the battery, and turned it back on again. This worked for a day or two, but the problem persists. When the power button is pressed the screen turns off. Swype installer is not running. I use Launcher Pro Plus, Screen Suite Lockscreen (uninstalled, no change), and Juice Defender (uninstalled, no change). It only happens at home when connected to WiFi. The latest downloaded apps were mini squadron and last call widget. Facebook, among others, recently did an update.
     
  11. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    no issues here...using the latest facebook too. possible faulty power button? (shorting out)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...