1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Screenshot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RaLeX, Apr 25, 2012.

  1. RaLeX

    RaLeX Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012

    Mar 23, 2012
    183
    15
    38
    I recently returned my i717 Note and purchased an n7000 Note and am having an issue with the home/power button screenshot...

    S-Pen method works fine, but when I hit the power and home button together, my phone just goes to sleep. No screenshot. Is there a setting I need to adjust? or is there a different (non S-Pen) method for the International Note?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Omar Days

    Omar Days Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,225
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    1,225
    339
    193
    Nope, you're doing it right. It's just that, that method you're doing to take a screenshot is imo a bit hit and miss. I thought I was the only one having trouble with that!
     
    RaLeX likes this.
  3. RaLeX

    RaLeX Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012

    Mar 23, 2012
    183
    15
    38
    Just retried it... holding home first, then hitting power button seems to be the key. lol
     
  4. touringhaggis

    touringhaggis Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012

    Jan 29, 2012
    570
    236
    133
    Male
    DevOps Engineer
    Germany
    You could also try swiping the side of your open hand over the screen from left to right. This will also take a quick screenshot. It works so well I have to remember to clean the screen from right to left ;)

    Regards,
    Eric Ritchie.
     
    RaLeX likes this.
  5. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,183
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    I tend to use this method the most, then the pen. I can't get the home and power button thing to work really, but someone above said to hit the home first and then power so maybe that'll work. Thanks for the heads up!
     
  6. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    That's the method I use. Press & hold the home button then press the power button (within about half a second). Works every time. I think they did it that way with the emphasis on the home key to avoid being an exact copy of the way the iPhone does it.
     
  7. Bodestone

    Bodestone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    441
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012

    Jan 17, 2012
    441
    95
    53
    I keep accidentally taking screenshots of the lock screen when I take the phone out of my shirt pocket since I grip it by the home button then rotate it and I often accidentally catch the power button.
     
  8. kmn5

    kmn5 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    44
    1
    16
    after upgrading to ICS 4.0.4, pressing home button a that 1 second brings up the task manager.....
     
  9. Bodestone

    Bodestone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    441
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012

    Jan 17, 2012
    441
    95
    53
    Long press on the home button has always invoked the recent programs list with an option for task manager. It still does but now has been prettified.
     
  10. Gti fly

    Gti fly Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    107
    8
    36
    You're not alone. I've never mastered the two button method.

    Find it much easier to either swipe my palm across the screen, or better still use the S-pen, because this then opens up the image and allows you to annotate on the captured image straight away
     
  11. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,183
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    After ICS I've mainly just used the s-pen for screenshots. Swiping my hand across the screen doesn't work quite as well now.
     
  12. mikadad

    mikadad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012

    Aug 27, 2012
    25
    2
    36
    Technical Analyst
    Chula Vista, CA
    I'm new to androids, and my Note, so how does this work again? press home and I get Task manager,
     
  13. Vipfreak

    Vipfreak Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    383
    32
    53
    I rooted a while back so I'm assuming the home + Power doesn't work for me anymore, at least I can't do it anymore. Used to be able to just fine before.
     

Share This Page

Loading...