1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

SD among the dead

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Rgarner, Nov 7, 2018.

  1. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    545
    41
    88
    Should I remove the sd card from the phone if the phone isn't working? Will it be damaged if I don't? What is the safest way to protect it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,725
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,725
    24,310
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    If the phone isn't working as in, you cannot turn it on, you can remove the card. Not much else you can do via the phone to unmount it first anyway.
     
    Rgarner and Dannydet like this.
  3. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    545
    41
    88
    Yeah, I guess it probably wouldn't hurt. I still don't get how the S5 could have been working last Friday and all of a sudden on Saturday it wasn't. Is there any way I could test these two batteries myself? If one of them is working I should probably keep it. At least I have (had) fourteen days to return the new one.
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,725
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,725
    24,310
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Is the battery removable on that device?
    And just to be clear, the device won't even turn on correct?

    I ask because some folks say the phone won't work, meaning either it won't turn on at all, or won't fully boot up, or some other issue with function.
     
    Rgarner likes this.
  5. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    545
    41
    88
    The battery's removable, all right. In fact, last Saturday morning it had fallen out on the floor, but since it's carpeted and there was one more soft thing there, I figured it wasn't too bad. Not having a back on it sure doesn't help. It's a li-ion 3.85 v 2800 mah. As for the phone, no, it doesn't come on at all, no vibration or light, just nothing.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  6. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,725
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,725
    24,310
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    When you plug it in (with the battery installed) is there any indication of charging?

    Also, put the battery back in and press/hold the power button for a while, like 20-30 seconds.

    Are the battery terminals clean? Is the battery seated making contact with the device terminals?
     
    Rgarner likes this.
  7. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,725
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,725
    24,310
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    By the way, you mention 2 batteries...you have 2 batteries for the S5?

    My next suggestion may seem a bit weird but go with me on this :p
    Take your S5 with the wall charger and cord. Plug it into the wall. Take the cord and insert it into the phone, then remove it, then insert it, then remove it...do this about a half dozen times about 1 second apart intervals ending with the cord plugged into the phone.
    Yeah, I know, weird eh? I had an issue with one of my devices which refused to turn on and that method worked for me.

    How did I come up with that method? I was getting very frustrated and just went nuts plugging / unplugging it, then shabam! it powered on :D
     
    joe71, Xavier Black and Rgarner like this.
  8. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    545
    41
    88
    The terminals look clean. I guess the battery is properly seated. The reason I have 2 batteries is that I just bought the other from Batteries and Bulbs (I think that's their new name) for $43.05. It's also li-ion 3.85 v but 2600 mah, and it says it's X2, probably the brand name. I'll try the unplug and replug thing and see how that works. I guess it's not that much different from having to unplug and replug the wifi. That happens at least once or twice a week.
     
    dontpanicbobby likes this.
  9. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    545
    41
    88
    Well, I tried that. It didn't work . Maybe I just should do that a few hundred times and finally something.
     
  10. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    12,061
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    12,061
    7,570
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
  11. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    545
    41
    88
    It's mostly photos and videos, no music yet, maybe a few pdfs. In case they aren't on sd, how do I rescue them from a dead phone? I haven't been able to make that wireless thing work, and now with the phone shot, I guess it doesn't matter. I did not set it up to work with one phone only because that's bs. I'm sure there's a way to store apps, games, data, etc. on there without resorting to that. I want to be able to use it with the next phone I get, if I'm still that crazy to put myself through that much punishment. By the way, why don't Apple phones have sd cards? Even Microsoft thought of that, but it's apparently too late for that now.
     
  12. Xavier Black

    Xavier Black Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #113
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015

    Sep 21, 2015
    581
    208
    133
    Male
    Ok, here is my diagnosis:

    The phone is bricked. simple and period.
    So that leads me to the question if your phone is rooted..my best guess is not..regardless is bricked.
    I asked you because even there's not feedback from the screen or vibration, I was about to suggest you to try put it on recovery mode and do clear cache and delete the dalvik data..those two together is like practicing a cpr and a heart massage in a dead corps..that procedure has done miracles in my §5 in numerous occasions since I'm always experimenting this dude with stuff most gigs won't dear to..

    If it doesn't work for you, you have to reflash your firmware..that's the only way to bring it back alive..I've done it more than(may sound to exaggerating to you) 50 times..and it works every time.
     
    bcrichster likes this.
  13. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    6,204
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,204
    4,367
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    I agree with @Xavier Black , you may need use ODIN to reflash your factory FW
     
  14. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    545
    41
    88
    Of course, it isn't rooted. I have had only 1 rooted phone, a Kyocera Rise, and that took maybe a week to get done. I wish it were rooted, but it probably isn't. It belonged to someone even less techy than I am, if that's even possible. It's on 6.0.1, but i doubt that's going to help. I still don't know how or why this happened. The Friday before last it was working just fine, and the next day it wouldn't come on at all. The fact that the battery fell out on the floor probably didn't help. At least it was carpeted, with another soft thing on top of that. Supposedly the battery is nonfunctional, but I don't know this for absolutely sure because I had to have it tested by someone in a back room who said it was not ok. Is there some way I can test it myself, maybe with some kind of device? Also, what should I do with the battery I bought there for $43.05? I have about a week to return it if it doesn't work out, as it seemingly will not.
     
  15. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,725
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,725
    24,310
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    So the replacement battery does not make the device react at all either eh?
     
  16. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    545
    41
    88
    No, it doesn't. That certainly doesn't mean there's anything wrong with the battery. It's the X2, also 3.85 v, li ion, only 2600 instead of 2800 mah. I got it at Batteries and Bulbs or whatever their new name is. I wish I could include a photo but, well, you know...I wish I knew whether to return it and get the money back.
     
  17. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,725
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,725
    24,310
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Being as the device is non responsive whatsoever, do you think the 3 button combo to boot into either recovery or download mode would work? I really don't know, but worth a try :)
     
    bcrichster and Rgarner like this.
  18. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    545
    41
    88
    What is the 3 button combo? I know for computers it's control alt delete. I guess this is an Android version.
     
  19. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,725
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,725
    24,310
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    When a Samsung is turned off, there is usually a three button combo to push to enter into recovery or download mode.
    For your device, the Samsung S5, it is this:
    https://www.hardreset.info/devices/samsung/samsung-g900-galaxy-s5/recovery-mode/

    I usually start with home, power up, then the power button in that order.

    Download mode is basically the same except use the Volume down button.

    It can be tricky at times, at least for me, to get the combo right, but it will go. :)
     
    Rgarner likes this.
  20. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    545
    41
    88
    Doesn't a hard reset wipe out everything that's on the phone? Still, I bet it would be an improvement over the nothing I've got now. I should probably take out the sd card first.
     
    dontpanicbobby likes this.
  21. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    545
    41
    88
    Ok, I took back the battery. The tall guy was going to have me do something with a card I probably didn't have, but then someone else, probably the manager, authorized cash back, which she said they don't ordinarily do. Should I put the old battery back in or what? If I do three button recovery, will it destroy everything that's already on the phone?
     
  22. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,725
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,725
    24,310
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Yes, but strictly booting into recovery or download mode will not do that.

    I doesn't matter, but doesn't hurt.

    No, it only boots into recovery or download mode depending on which volume button you use.
    Recovery mode offers a few choices, one of which is doing a factory reset--which will wipe the device.
    It offers a simple option to reboot. It also offers an option to wipe cache and dalvik cache, both of which won't hurt your settings/data and such.

    Download mode is the mode you put it in when you want to flash firmware, which will wipe the device and give you a fresh "out of the box" device.

    I suggest trying to boot into recovery first, albeit honestly not holding my breath for any signs of life.

    If indeed it is bricked, then booting into download mode (if possible) finding the correct firmware and flashing it, but one step at a time. :)
     
  23. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    545
    41
    88
    To do that, the phone would probably have to have a battery in it. I assume a working one. Would it be worth it to put a known good battery in it to try that? I don't really want to give up on it, especially since it cost $80.
     
  24. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,725
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,725
    24,310
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    If indeed the current battery is kaputz, then yes a known good battery should be used.
    However, if the current battery state is assumed to be good, and the device itself is borked, use the current battery to attempt to boot into recovery or download mode.
    My best guess is the battery is ok but the device got borked, possibly bricked for some reason.
     
    Rgarner likes this.
  25. Rgarner

    Rgarner Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    May 9, 2017

    May 9, 2017
    545
    41
    88
    I guess I'll give it a try, but probably not right now. If it comes on, should I try flashing new firmware? I've never done that. I'm almost sure it's not rooted.
     

Share This Page

Loading...