1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root SD-Booster

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by biggie80, Sep 26, 2011.

  1. biggie80

    biggie80 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    88
    42
    43
    Male
    Pizza Hut
    Circle Pines, MN

    Advertisement

    b16h22, dustwun77, Granite1 and 2 others like this.
  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    thanx for the sharing. will have to check it out.
     
  3. scudder

    scudder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,281
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    1,281
    364
    163
    Male
    Ex-attorney ("retired" at 27)...
    State of Confusion (FL too)
    I just replied to your other post biggie in my thread but better over here :D...

    So I see you changed the value from 128k to 4086k and your resultant improvement. I have a Class 10 and looking at the read ahead file shows that my value is ALREADY "4096k"...

    Anyone have any idea if this sd boost will actually help my Class 10 card?? If so, what value would I choose??

    THANKS!!
     
    biggie80 likes this.
  4. biggie80

    biggie80 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    88
    42
    43
    Male
    Pizza Hut
    Circle Pines, MN
    Thanks! :D I'd suggest using PC Tools app to test your card and just play around with numbers till you don't notice much of an improvement. I did a multiplier of 128 since that's the original (base) number. Plus I think I have mine set at 4096k and I made a typo, lol.:rolleyes:
     
  5. scudder

    scudder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,281
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    1,281
    364
    163
    Male
    Ex-attorney ("retired" at 27)...
    State of Confusion (FL too)
    Did you mean SD Tools?? I think you did! :D

    I just cracked the sucker up to the max of 8192k and let it run. My results:

    Before:
    7.3 MB/s
    22.5 MB/s

    After:
    Write - 6.4 MB/s
    Read - 26.1 MB/s

    You won't bet a change in write speed so that 7.3/6.4 is going to be in and around what it would be no matter what. But a 16% increase in read speed is decent.

    MY question is...why am I getting only ~26 MB read on the boost with my purported Class 10 card and you got nearly 30 MB on a Class 4??
     
  6. biggie80

    biggie80 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    88
    42
    43
    Male
    Pizza Hut
    Circle Pines, MN
    Yes you are correct I did mean SD :D

    I recently switched roms to TN Xplod E4G and I still get the same numbers. I compared base number (128k) to the updated number (4096k). So I suggest changing your number to 128k and run a test, then go back to 8192k and do a comparison. As for why mine reads faster idk other then maybe different card makes. :thinking:

    I just switched to 8192k to just see what happens and my write speed went up to 5 MB/s and read went to 30.2 MB/s. But then I ran it again and got 4.8/29.2. So I say run it 3 time and average it out.

    Here is my averages (ran 3 times each)

    128k (base)
    5.2/19.6

    3200k (25xbase)
    5.1/29.6
    66% increase

    4096k (32xbase)
    4.8/29.4
    50% Icrease

    8192k (64xbase)
    5.2/29.2
    49.9% increase

    I noticed I didn't have my cpu oc, so I changed that and still got the same kind of numbers.
     
    scudder likes this.
  7. scudder

    scudder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,281
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    1,281
    364
    163
    Male
    Ex-attorney ("retired" at 27)...
    State of Confusion (FL too)
    Thanks for the recommendations. I'm just trying to figure out in my head what I can get with entering a value less than my base 4096k cache value for my Class 10 card?? I guess I should stop figuring in my head and just try it out different values :D

    Thanks again...
     
  8. biggie80

    biggie80 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    88
    42
    43
    Male
    Pizza Hut
    Circle Pines, MN
    Not a problem. Glad I could help someone! Try 6400k thats 50x over stock.
     
  9. scudder

    scudder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,281
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    1,281
    364
    163
    Male
    Ex-attorney ("retired" at 27)...
    State of Confusion (FL too)
    I'm screwing around with other stuff on my phone right now otherwise I'd stop typing and try it out myself :D:D but...

    I thought my "stock" on my Class 10 card was 4096k...I don't think "stock" for me is 128k...:thinking::thinking:

    Like I said though, I'm just gonna try...
     
  10. biggie80

    biggie80 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    88
    42
    43
    Male
    Pizza Hut
    Circle Pines, MN
    It's all good. If you were to flash a stock Sense rom; I strongly believe, it would be 128k, but I think some kernels (might be wrong) might change this value for you to boost performance. It could also be cooked into the roms themselves. I could also be wrong bout both too and you could be right, but I believe that the value has more to do with the phone/rom/kernel then the card themselves.
     
  11. scudder

    scudder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,281
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    1,281
    364
    163
    Male
    Ex-attorney ("retired" at 27)...
    State of Confusion (FL too)
    You know, AFTER I wrote this I realized that I was commenting about my "stock" cache value while on a CUSTOM ROM!! :eek::eek: Whoops!! So, likely, with a stock ROM, I would see the lower 128 value (and if memory serves me correct I saw a value of 4 with my newly rooted froyo way back when!!). My current value WITHOUT tweaking of 4096 must have been set by my MikG ROM.

    Anyway, I tried some stuff lower and higher and seem to get the best cranking the cache up to 8192 :D I think the Class 10 can handle that high of a cache without being "overkill" and non-beneficial. I have no increase in write speed (as expected) but about 15% increase in read.
     
  12. scudder

    scudder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,281
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    1,281
    364
    163
    Male
    Ex-attorney ("retired" at 27)...
    State of Confusion (FL too)
    BTW, Biggie...if you are truly getting speeds that you are posting with your Class 4 card and if you haven't done so already, you might consider partitioning the card to free up some space. That was why I got the Class 10 to begin with...for more space and the necessary read speed to be able to partition and use it efficiently. And speaking of OVERKILL I created a 2048 MB partition for my apps :eek::D Download away!!!!!! :D
     
  13. biggie80

    biggie80 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    88
    42
    43
    Male
    Pizza Hut
    Circle Pines, MN
    Oh I do have mine partitioned. I got a 32gb card I stole from my Thunderbolt before I traded it in for my Evo. I got mine set at 4096 cause I don't use hardly and space on my card!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...