1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support SD Card Access/Unmount Issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tacullen, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. tacullen

    tacullen Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    3
    0
    25
    My phone shows SD card "read-only or not mounted" but it seems to be mounted b/c I can see files in Astro, but apps can't access the SD to write or play audiobooks, music, etc. I also cannot "unmount" using the phone, and running myBackup fails. I took the card to my pc and the card mounts fine as a disk drive and I backed it up, thinking I would format the SD, but the phone won't format because it is mounted and won't unmount. Should I format in the PC and what if so what file system do I choose?
     

    Advertisement

  2. tacullen

    tacullen Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    3
    0
    25
    My phone shows the SD card as "read-only or not mounted" and it seems to be mounted b/c I can see files in Astro, but apps can't access the SD to write or play audiobooks, music, etc. But I also cannot "unmount" using the phone, and running myBackup fails. I took the card to my pc and the card mounts fine as a disk drive and I backed up the files, but since the phone won't format it because it is mounted and it won't unmount, should I format in the PC and if so what file system do I use?
     
  3. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #62
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    Format it in the PC to fat32 preferably.
     
    tacullen likes this.
  4. melcher70

    melcher70 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    I'm having this problem too.. I have a mac and just ran disk utility repair to see if that helps.. so far so good. I also have the SD card backed up on my Mac. Question is, if I do need to reformat, can I just copy the backed up data to the reformatted card, and expect everything to work fine?
     

Share This Page

Loading...