1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root SD Card change problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bankswood, May 10, 2011.

  1. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    I decided to go from a 16g to 32g card. Thought I could just make a temp folder on my PC and move everything from the 16g to there then pop the 32g in the X and move everything over. Not so. There seem to be many things that must originate from the phone or a download to work. Anyway I have solved most of the issues however I do have one big problem. I can make a nandroid of my present setup and everything seems to go fine. Clockworkod says it a success bur for some reason I can't find the backup anywhere. Also I notice that I do not have a clockworkmod folder on my SD Card. Any help please?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    That is strange, I changed to a 32GB card a few months ago and all I did was drag everything from the old card to the new one and it worked fine.
     
  3. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    The card is a class 4 Kingston. I think i will format it outside the X then try again.

    Airmaxx what brand and class are you using?
     
  4. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    I tried 4 times to copy the contents of my sd card to my pc and every time I tried my pc told me a folder was too long to copy it? I know what it's telling me, that the file name is too long and renaming it to a shorter name will do the trick, but for the life of me I cant find the folder its talking about. Is there hidden files and folders on our sd card much like on a pc?
     
  5. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    It's a SanDisk, class 2.
     
  6. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Ok I got my 32g card all set up. Seems the problem was my old as sh... computer. I used another computer to transfer the folders from the 16g to the 32g card. I still have a big problem though. When I make a backup of my current rom every thing seems fine. It says backup complete. but when I go to find the backup it not on my SD Card. Using ROM manager I can't find it and looking through my Astro File manager I can't find it. Any suggestions?
     
  7. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,968
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,968
    25,380
    3,933
    Male
    Stupid question time: Did you allow android to format your sd card before you did the changeover?
     
  8. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Well uh well uh... no. I used the computer to format my card.
     
  9. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,968
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,968
    25,380
    3,933
    Male
    use the android to do it. that should fix it. :)
     
  10. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Well I formatted the card using the X and then moved all the files over but I still have the same problem. I did notice that when doing a backup its not generating a md5. It says it is but its barely even taking a second to complete where on my 16g card it takes 5 or more seconds to generate the md5 sum.
     
  11. razorclose

    razorclose Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    243
    7
    36
    Macon, Ga
    I would re-flash the recovery, reboot, flash recovery again, reboot and go from there. That has worked on all of my previous phones when having difficulty with nandroid
     
  12. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Thanks for the help. I did as you prescribed and it looked like all would work but for some odd reason when i attempted a backup it would frre about half way through. However I have solved the problem. I formatted the the SD Card and then the first thing I did was flash clockworkmod recovery. That seems to have corrected the problem. Now I will just rebuild my other data slowly.

    Thanks to all for your help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...