1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Sd card help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mills23, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female
    Ok, I backed up apps on my sd card now when I go to restore them they are not there. I took the card out put it back in my old phone, backed them up again, unmounted the card put it back in my bionic still not there! As a matter of fact everything that shows on my card in astro isn't there in my bionic. Any ideas? Please?
     

    Advertisement

  2. bigbabys

    bigbabys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    490
    116
    88
    Personal Account Manager
    Largo, FL
    In terms of TIBU I have no idea how it works with the Bionic's new filesystem. But the SDCARD partiton on your Bionic is not actually your SDCARD. It is a partition of the Bionics own internal memory for apps. Your SD card is SDCARD-EXT.

    These changes may have complicated the restore of apps with TIBU. I don't have my Bionic yet so I can't confirm. But that might be why it's not working.
     
    mills23 likes this.
  3. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female
    Thank you but I don't understand any of what you just said! Lol!

    I just thought of something, I used backup pro for my apps and pix and music, the restored. What would the diff be?
     
  4. Reverence

    Reverence Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    250
    19
    38
    I am currently experiencing a similar issue. The SD card is listed as SDcard-ext on the Bionic. The only work around I have found is to copy the files from SDcard-ext to SDCard/Internal Stroage using ES File Explorer.
     
    mills23 likes this.
  5. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female

    Can you tell me how to do this please?
     
  6. Reverence

    Reverence Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    250
    19
    38
    Once you have your SD card installed on the Bionic. Open up astro file manager and go to the main phone directory, not just SD card. Once you get to the main phone directory/home, search for the sdcard-ext folder. Copy everything from that folder to your sdcard folder, and everything should work fine.
     
  7. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female
    It tells me move failed.
     
  8. Reverence

    Reverence Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    250
    19
    38
    I was getting that error too, it is kind of hit and miss. =\

    Make sure you are copying each individual folder inside the sdcard-ext folder. You have to COPY and PASTE. For some reason, when I did cut and paste it failed.
     
  9. Tosa90

    Tosa90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    109
    32
    43
    Machinist
    Milwaukee,WI
    Try connecting the phone to your computer and mount both the SD card and Internal memory, then copy everything over using the computer. Once copied over unmount from computer and remount to phone.
     
    mills23 likes this.
  10. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female
    I got one to move but some how lost the other!
     
  11. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female

    What setting do I pick for this?
     
  12. Tosa90

    Tosa90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    109
    32
    43
    Machinist
    Milwaukee,WI
    When you connect the phone to your computer a little USB icon will appear in the Notification bar. Open you notifications and click the USB option. A menu will appear and you need to choose the "USB Mass Storage" option.

    Within a few seconds it should automatically mount both the Internal storage and your SD Card to you computer.
     
    mills23 likes this.
  13. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female
    I only have one app that won't use its backup now. I've moved the files on the PC and using astro nothing worked.
     
  14. Reverence

    Reverence Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    250
    19
    38
    Do you know how I would get the internal drive to mount, because only my SD card seems to give me access.
     
  15. Hola91

    Hola91 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    64
    6
    16
    Hamilton, NJ
    If you go into your app drawer and go into files, then to sd card, and you can go into your backups folder. Then long press on the file and close open. It will then ask if you want to install the app.
     
    mills23 likes this.
  16. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female

    Got my replacement bionic and tried this again, didn't work. Help please?
     
  17. scadarick

    scadarick Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    retired it director, director of design and engine
    texas
    there is a program that i have been using for sometime now, its called my backup pro. now when you backup, it gives you 2 options, first local
    ; sdcard-ext or online. its the only backup program i know of that reads the bionic corectly and knows that sdcard-ext is the plugin card or mounted card, take your pick. just thought i would throw that out. i too have several problems with programs not reading the sdcard, well it is because most android programs have sdcard hatd coded, so they dont see the real sdcard you installed. i was wondering if a batch file of sort could be put in the sdcard direcrtory, but then anything needing the internal sdcard as bionic uses, it would read the wrong card so to speak, since sdcard is internal mem, not the card you plug in...yes it seems that programmers ar going to need to add paths to the sdcard needed. sorry, this is a hard one to explain...its a first for me as well. many of the file managers do list the sdcard-ext, right after the sdcard entry, its just telling the apps where it is, is the problem....i think...like i said..its still work in progress for me as well. i have had out of memory errors when doing updates from the market, but they just seem to be a false error, most of the time its correct. now i getting chatty.....i guess this will be a conversation for awhile. good luck guys.

     

Share This Page

Loading...