1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support SD Card Issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ddcarter3, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. ddcarter3

    ddcarter3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #447
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    28
    4
    26
    Female
    I had a 32 gb sd card in my Bionic. When I switched to my new Razr Maxx HD, it worked fine for a few weeks. Now all of a sudden I get an error message saying that it has been secured with another device and cannot be accessed unless formatted. So, I put it back in the Bionic and got the same message. I then copied everything I wanted to my computer.
    Has anyone else seen this?
    Do I need to format this on my computer?
     

    Advertisement

  2. PowrDroid

    PowrDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012

    Nov 7, 2012
    172
    26
    43
    Male
    Business Owner
    Minneapolis, MN

    I have not seen the symptoms you're describing. I wonder what could have happened to deny you access? What is causing this? Have you added any new apps?

    Everything I've read says to format the SD card in your phone. I would not format with your PC.

    I just transferred my old stuff from a 8GB card to a 32GB card. I moved all my old data on the 8GB card to my PC, then inserted the 32GB card in the phone and formatted it. Then I put the 32GB card in a card reader and plugged it into a USB port on my PC. I was now ready to move everything back to my new card, however, I could not transfer any files! When I looked at the SD card's properties with my PC it said 0 bytes available and 0 bytes used. What?

    So I put the 32GB card back in my phone and hooked the Moto USB cable to my phone and was able to transfer files with no problems.

    One last thing--I've read that the Maxx HD sometimes does not like class 10 SD cards. Does your card happen to be a class 10?
     
  3. ddcarter3

    ddcarter3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #447
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    28
    4
    26
    Female
    It is a class 10.

    No new apps were installed from the last time I played music until this.

    How do you format it in the phone when I can't mount the disc?

    Thanks.
     
  4. PowrDroid

    PowrDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012

    Nov 7, 2012
    172
    26
    43
    Male
    Business Owner
    Minneapolis, MN
    Then I guess your only option is to format it in your PC and see if it becomes readable on your phone. If it becomes readable on your phone after formatting on PC, I would try to reformat it in the phone, then attempt the data transfer.

    How much data do you have to transfer? I ask because if it's a lot, say more than 8 GB, you might want to transfer the data via your PC, as it might be faster. Either way, like me, you're going to get familiar with using the Motorola SD Card removal pin tool.
     
    ddcarter3 likes this.
  5. ddcarter3

    ddcarter3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #447
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    28
    4
    26
    Female
    Thanks......I will try the PC route.
     
  6. ddcarter3

    ddcarter3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #447
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    28
    4
    26
    Female
    Formatted on PC. Everything works fine.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...