1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support sd card problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by winnie34, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. winnie34

    winnie34 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi,

    I got my Optimus one not long ago and I bought kingston 8G for it though it would work fine. The phone read the card well and show the memory correct and I can use it pretty good on my phone. The thing later I found out is the phone itself restart after the idle time exceed 1hr which is crazy. The phone works really good until I upgrade my original sd card (samsung 2G which came in with) to Kingston microsd 8G. I don't know where exactly is wrong, and I couldn't return the sd card either since it work fine on both phone and on computer with card reader. If someone got same problem with me, please let me know or help me out!! Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Amanai

    Amanai Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010

    Dec 10, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    hey,
    Got a similar problem. I still use the card which came with the phone and all of the sudden I find the phone rebooting (have to enter pin again) with the "invalid sd card" message.

    Didn't have this problem for the 1st 2 days (have the phone for 4 days).
     
  3. r0cc0

    r0cc0 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010

    Dec 9, 2010
    2
    0
    5

    is a problem that everyone has, you have to wait for the OS upgrade to 2.3
     
  4. dan_popp

    dan_popp Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    No, it's not a problem everyone has. I changed my SD card too with a Kingmax 8G SD card, class 6. Everything is OK!
     
  5. JulyDerek

    JulyDerek Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    102
    12
    38
    Bombay
    Sorry for asking a dumb question, but did you install the card correctly in the slot ?
     
  6. JulyDerek

    JulyDerek Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    102
    12
    38
    Bombay
    Sorry, I just said it too soon. Yesterday got the same error. SD Card not found....:thinking: It was a brand new 4GB Sandisk SD card.

    Is this a phone problem or a card problem?
     
  7. socialdistortion

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    1
    1
    6
    JulyDerek likes this.
  8. JulyDerek

    JulyDerek Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    102
    12
    38
    Bombay
  9. christosc

    christosc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I just discovered that this error is not happening randomly.It occurs when the proximity sensor of the phone is activated and deactivates the screen. To test it, make a phone call and during the phone call put your finger over the proximity sensor. The screen becomes black as it should be, but when you remove your finger and the screen turns back on you will see the message of the removed sd card. This means probably that when the screen is turned off something is also changing to the sd card slot that affects some sd cards. I have tried this with my kingston sd card and have the problem each time i do that, but with the original phone sd card and with some other cards i never had it. I hope that this observation will help to solve the issue.
     
  10. idcrysys

    idcrysys Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011

    Jan 9, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I'll awaiting delivery of a sd card - class 6, and will report back after that. but all I know at the moment is that after the phone recently restarting up to 5 times a day, I backed up what I needed from card, mounted as usb, formatted card from laptop, as you would a normall drive, then remounted on phone.

    I am now slowly adding the apps I had, and watching its behaviour.

    so far, compaired to before, I have had one restart in 5 days.

    I sometimes wonder if it is a vibration thing with it. only say this, because everytime I have put into car holster, it restarts while driving. also, if in pocket, and I've run down stairs, again, I get a restart.

    so wonder if there is also a fragility to the sd card mount which compounds the problems?

    anyway, will see what happens after new card comes.

    have to say though, after seeing all these reports of issues around the net, I called LG, and spoke with a tech guy, who was utterly suprised and had heard nothing of probs. all they would say is send the phone back for repair.

    I sent them links to these forums after that and got a crap email back, going nowhere near answering my questions.

    disappointed with that
     
  11. ruriimasu

    ruriimasu Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    55
    2
    16
    i dont think this problem is with optimus one only. i was searching through this forum for same problem and it appeared a few other LG androids are having this problem as well. i really hope it can be solved. anyway i have an 8GB card on its way and hope it solve the problem. :(
     
  12. idcrysys

    idcrysys Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011

    Jan 9, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Further to my above post, I recieved the sd card a couple of days later. It has now been 3 weeks of many downloads, app installs, tweaks etc, without a single restart or freeze. It is like a new phone, quicker, stable, all good.

    The card I got was a transcend 8gb class 6. got it off ebay for very little, well worth it.
     
  13. paulriv

    paulriv Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    From doing a little research on the net, it seems that you need a class 6 sd card to avoid the problems.

    I got an Optimus one this week, tried my old 4gb SD card, the phone did not want to know. Reverted to the 2gb Samsung supplied with the phone and its fine.

    Once the new card is installed, to avoid unreliability I recommend that you uninstall and reinstall any downloaded applications - this is so that if they use the card they are then saved to the new card. Otherwise the data that they may have cached to the sd card will remain only on the old card that you took out !

    I am planning to upgrade the 2gb card to say 8gb but I will make sure I follow the above and I am really hoping this will work, cos at present with the supplied 2gb card the phone has settled down and is reliable.
     
  14. Vyk70r

    Vyk70r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    89
    17
    18
    Romania
    i have a 4G card for 2 years i think and works great, in 3 mouths i had no problem :-??
     
  15. Manodroid

    Manodroid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    1
    0
    5
  16. mylanox

    mylanox Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hi there. I think this reboot problem after changing sd card, is faced by many OS, not only android. Symbian has it too (on my N8).
    Optimus One, which came with Froyo (2.2), has the capability to store apps on the SD. If you have this conditions, more over, so many apps on the SD, and you've just migrate to a bigger capacity, make sure it come from higher class. Micro SD rated from class 2 up to 10. Most mobile phone run fine when paired with 2 GB. But, if you're going higher, first of all, you'll notice some performance degradation (if using class 2). But, the problem went away, if using higher class. My O1 does this too. Installed 16 GB class 2, the restart problem comes in. It's crazy you know. Then, change to 16 GB class 6 (although I prefer to class 10 if it's available), the restart problem doesn't come in at once. Not once. The problem is, the higher the capacity, the slower the performance, if using the same class.
     
  17. blord

    blord Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    7
    1
    6
    Technician
    Quebec,Canada
    Hi everyboby,

    A few months ago, I changed the original SD Card for a LEXAR CLASS6 8 Gb memory card. Never have any problem with the card or the phone....

    Blord
     

Share This Page

Loading...