1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

SD Card Requirement for App2SD

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by geeoff81, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. geeoff81

    geeoff81 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    24
    2
    16
    I'm running Fresh 2.4.0 and I've run out of space on my internal memory (not that many apps, but still less than 20mg free). I'm looking to use App2SD, but the link off the Fresh 2.4.0 XDA site for App2SD FAQ's (FAQ: Apps2sd Information) suggest that I use a Class 6 micro SD card. However, the Sprint HTC Hero website says the phone can only use Class 2 settings.

    Is there any advantage to spending the extra money and buy a Class 6 card? Is it really necessary to run App2SD? Any insight would be helpful!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Guitardoc64

    Guitardoc64 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    74
    15
    38
    Music Store guitar/amp tech
    Lake Charles, LA
    The class 6 will help. It can be done with a class 2, I'm running an 8G class 2 sandisk right now. It just will lag on RW to the SD. I notice it with the photos app mostly. I'm looking at upgrading to a class 6. I also think that the specs on Sprint's website are for the original release 1.5 SW, and don't pertain to newer or custom ROMs.
     
  3. thefley

    thefley Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #339
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    346
    26
    63
    Oklahoma
    anyone know of a place to get the best price on a Class 6 card?
     
  4. geeoff81

    geeoff81 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    24
    2
    16
    I got mine at overstock.com, but I also saw some reasonably priced at amazon. Haven't found any in the major stores (BB, staples, office depot, etc).
     
  5. thefley

    thefley Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #339
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    346
    26
    63
    Oklahoma
    I have the ZenRom alpha 5

    I have gotten the SD card partitioned the was I read http://geekfor.me/faq/apps2sd now how do I get the apps over?
     
  6. DHAndroid

    DHAndroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    56
    0
    15
    Running 2.2 CM6, not using the apps2sd app.

    The easiest setup: in the settings/applications go into each app and select move to sd card. Not all will go, but enough to give you more free space. Have probably 30+ apps installed with 70mb free

    Also wipe your dalvik cache once every 3 days to keep the phone running smooth.
     
  7. cotandem

    cotandem Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    31
    0
    15
    I have Fresh 2.4 running for about 6 weeks. I tried using the above instructions, but when I boot into recovery (using ROM Manager) there is not even an option to partition the SD card. So, I used the ROM Manager app's Partition SD card function and saw no option to go from ext 2 to ext 3. What am I missing here? Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  8. wrench

    wrench Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    215
    44
    43
    NC
    Can you wipe dalvik cache without losing any apps/data? I assume the answer is yes, but just want to confirm.
     
  9. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    Yes,,,,wiping Davlik will not cause any issues with your Apps.
     
    wrench likes this.
  10. wrench

    wrench Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    215
    44
    43
    NC
    I'm considering moving to Froyo and using apps2sd. My current sd card is 2gb and no idea what class. But I think it's the one that came with the Hero, so probably class 2?

    Is it worth it to buy a class 6 card for $10 or so? Meaning, is the performance difference between class 2 and class 6 noticeable when running apps2sd?
     
  11. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I'm still using the sd card the phone came with from 10/09, I have had no troubles with apps 2 sd;)

    Some have more songs stored on the sd card or more nandroids, so investing in a sd card might not be a bad idea for storage reasons
     
  12. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    I have an 8 GB Class 6 microSD card in my Sprint HTC Hero. A lot of people say that the Class rating does not matter too much, but if you are moving apps to the microSD card it has some bearing on speed, in my opinion.

    Also, I saw an 8 GB Class 4 microSD card on Amazon for $12.26 shipped yesterday. I was strongly considering that one for my Barnes & Noble Nook Color that I plan on rooting, but I think I want a 16 GB Class 10 card which will run me $29.95 shipped on NewEgg.
     
  13. genuser

    genuser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    180
    21
    38
    +1

    I came very close to buying the 16gb AData card at Newegg LBHeretic referenced. Best price I have seen. Decided to give it a go with my Class2 and have been running Apps2SD on Asop with very good performance.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...