1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

SD card

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sumo, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. Sumo

    Sumo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009

    Sep 17, 2009
    133
    3
    56
    Is there any thing on the sd card that comes with the phone that the phone needs to run? I have seen the manual.Would i be ok to put my 4gig card in thats got all my music/photos?

    Thanks peeps:)
     

    Advertisement

  2. andy d

    andy d Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    Aug 19, 2009
    595
    18
    63
    UK
    Hi.
    The manual is on your sd card as a pdf document.
    Might be worth a read if your new to the phone.
    Other than that yes. It's ok to put your sd card in.
     
  3. Sumo

    Sumo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009

    Sep 17, 2009
    133
    3
    56
    Cool ,not my first android phone so i roughly know my way around.
    Will chuck it in.;)
     
  4. quantumrand

    quantumrand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    1,237
    198
    143
    If you put a blank SD card in the Hero, it will automatically rebuild any files/folders it needs. For the most part, it holds things like thumbnails, bookmarks, and such; however, some apps can rely on files they put on an SD card when they are installed, in which case changing the SD card may make those apps unstable. Re-installing them would fix any issues like that of course.
     
  5. stealthpaws

    stealthpaws Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    13
    2
    16
    beadsmith
    Todd Mission, TX
    Make sure you follow the directions for mounting/unmounting USB - when I changed out my card to my 8 gig I copied all the files from the old card directly to the new card before I put it in the phone. Worked like a charm...only a few moments delay while it prepared the card when I turned off the Mass Storage option and accessed the card.
     
  6. Malgiliath

    Malgiliath Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    37
    2
    16
    York, UK
    Agree with Stealth, just got a 16Gig card and it only took a couple of minutes to swap all my files from the 2Gig to the 16, plus my daughter now has a 2Gig card for her new phone for free :D
     
  7. liddellw1

    liddellw1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    Madison MS
    Does the 16GB card make the Hero faster? If not what is the advantage?
     
  8. quantumrand

    quantumrand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    1,237
    198
    143
    The size of the SD card wont make anything faster. The only advantage to a larger SD card is the ability to store more data, such as music, photos, movies, etc.

    Faster SD cards, such as Class 6 cards compared to Class 2 cards for example, will improve the speed of some things, but only things that involve loading from the SD card, like flipping through a photo album, or (if you have Apps2SD) loading up an app. But for the most part, any SD card will have pretty little effect on the performance of your Hero.
     
  9. chicbetty

    chicbetty Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I bought a 16GB class 6 card that I wanted to swap for the one that came with my Hero, however, when I try it only copies part of the folders and the rest it says are embedded too deep...
    This included my music folder with the songs I added myself.
    Any Ideas how to copy everything over so I can switch out the card??
    ( I did this by mounting my phone with old card and had my new card in SD slot on my PC)
    I even unmounted the 2gb card and mounted the new 16gb, and formatted it with the phone to see if it set itself up some how to the folders needed, so I could just manually add the music back on it. However, only one folder showed up. Then I tried to copy the folders again from one to the other but, still got the Embedded too deep error.

    ***side note: I noticed that the new card description is listed as FAT32
    where the old card is just FAT. Could this be an issue?? Shouldn't the phone have formatted the card to the file structure it uses? The card was brand new and came that way.
     
  10. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Have you tried copying the files off the old card onto the PC, swapping cards on the handset, then copying them back across to the new card?

    No issue; any device that can read FAT32 by definition has to read FAT, as the former is simply a workaround for the 2GB limit imposed by the 16-bit addressing of the latter. I'm sure the 2GB card shipped with my handset was FAT when I got it, too.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...