1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

SD Memory

Discussion in 'Computers' started by richmatthews76, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. richmatthews76

    richmatthews76 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013

    Nov 23, 2013
    115
    4
    36
    Male
    retired
    Montana
    Is SD memory fast enough to run apps on a phone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    943
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,897
    943
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Probably not. It's fast enough for storage, but I doubt running it as RAM (which it's not, it's more sequential) would give you a phone you'd want to wait for.
     
  3. richmatthews76

    richmatthews76 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013

    Nov 23, 2013
    115
    4
    36
    Male
    retired
    Montana
    LOL It was just a curious thought!
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,199
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,199
    39,885
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Try towing a motorhome with a Porsche and you'll get the picture. ;)
     
  5. richmatthews76

    richmatthews76 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013

    Nov 23, 2013
    115
    4
    36
    Male
    retired
    Montana
    Lol...I've got a KIA Soul....would that work??? Up here they would try to use a riding mower?
     
  6. Rukbat

    Rukbat Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    943
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,897
    943
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    That's about the ratio - riding mower - but without the "riding" part. And without the self-propelled part. Remember using tape as a storage medium for computers? Think of using that to actually run apps on, and you get the idea.
     
  7. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,090
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,090
    10,741
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    In my Nexus One days I regularly used a Class 10 32GB MicroSD as my primary application storage. I can't say that it was great for performance, but it was done out of necessity (the N1 had 512MB of internal storage total - so closer to 200MB available for apps and their data) and it worked mostly fine. I formatted a ~16GB partition of the card to ext4 and essentially symlinked that partition to /data. It was a messy hack, but it did work just fine.

    I wouldn't do that unless you absolutely needed to (like if you don't have much storage available), but it is a perfectly workable solution - just make sure that you use a fast (Class 10 or so) card.
     
  8. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,199
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,199
    39,885
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    The N1 had a 1GHz single core processor. The op has an S4 Mini and a Note 3 both of which will be hamstrung by trying to run apps from the SD card ... even a class 10. And you'll be stressing the card. Accelerated failure is almost guaranteed.
     
  9. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,090
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,090
    10,741
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    I was responding to the general question of "will it work" as opposed to "will it work on these devices" since the question wasn't posed in a device-specific forum ;)
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  10. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,199
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,199
    39,885
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I never said it wouldn't work, just that it wouldn't work well. I'm a big fan of seeing if I can get something to work, but not on a daily driver. :eek:
     
  11. richmatthews76

    richmatthews76 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013

    Nov 23, 2013
    115
    4
    36
    Male
    retired
    Montana
    I have a very long integrated Microsoft and in the earlier Years O/S 2 mentality. You throw in another harddrive format and off you go. So that was my reasoning behind the question. With Unix I know what root is, how to change directories, get a file list, and mount a drive (true Unix) then I am basically clueless. I did play with Red Hat I liked it allot.
     
  12. Davdi

    Davdi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012

    Jul 4, 2012
    1,235
    670
    273
    Semi-retired developer
    The Shire
    It works just fine on older phones. I've got a Wildfire S running CM10.1, with a 16GB card formatted as follows:
    2GB EXT4, 2GB Linux Swap and the rest as FAT32. I've installed INT2EXT4+ so the phone thinks it's got 2GB available. (Limited memory is a serious problem on the WFS)
     

Share This Page

Loading...