1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root SD Partioning

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DaRayvn, Aug 27, 2011.

  1. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids
    [GUIDE][07/07/11]How to Partition your SD Card - xda-developers


    are these the instructions to follow for partioning?? just wanted to make sure there isnt another set of them somewhere else.....

    there's a few things im wondering about, like....

    number 3, says enter 1024 or 2048?? whats the difference?? then it says and the rest for FAT??? is it saying pick one of those for ext2, for example 1024, then enter 2048 for FAT???

    i also see nothing about doing the cache, dalvik cache, and data wiping along with using superwipe....just says go to the wipe menu and wipe everything in it.....hmmm....

    any input on how any of you on the forums do it would be appreciated....i just wanna make sure i do it right....thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    i added my own version of it to the http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/395962-guide-rooting-gingerbread-revolutionary.html. it is basically asking you how big you want ext2 to be? either 1gig or 2gig worth of space. the rest will be dedicated to FAT. once you partition your card then you will flash like you would normally flash a rom. so wipe,flash superwipe and the flash rom.
     
    DaRayvn likes this.
  3. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    so the ext2 is where you will be storing your market apps ? i have a 16gb card and i dont really use ALOT of apps but i think i would still go with 2gb just to be on the safe side....
     
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    you are actually will be using the ext3. in the guide, you upgrade to ext3. and that is what i have is 2g ext3.
     
  5. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    i meant 3ext. lol....typo....thanks for the info
     
  6. lubberlick

    lubberlick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    244
    138
    68
    American English Speaking Taxi Guy
    Indianapolis
    I actually went 1.5g cause I couldn't decide.
     
  7. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids
    how do you unpartition your card if you dont want to use it??
     
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    just reformat the card and it will wipe the partitions.
     
  9. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    i figured thats what you would have to do....i put the card in my adapter and into my computer and tried to format it but it still says i only 12.8gb
     
  10. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    You might have to format it through the phone. Windows might not recognize the ext3 partition, not sure though.
     
  11. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids
    so i would want to go to recovery/wipe/wipe sdcard?
     
  12. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    just saw your other post which i commented on, but i do not think that it is your card that is the issue. it is the way a2sd was cooked in. you may need to flash darktremors to move dalvik cache to the sd card.
     
  13. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    That or in the rom go to settings>SD & Storage. There should be an option there to format the card. Follow what Ocn is telling you though if you are having issues with a2sd though first.
     
    DaRayvn likes this.
  14. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    yah i saw something on XDA about that ROM saying that you had to flash the darktremor beta on that rom....now i just wanna make sure can get my card unpartitioned before i try it again lol....
     
  15. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    DaRayvn likes this.
  16. rfox54

    rfox54 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    33
    1
    16
    Dallas
    I also want to un-partition the card. I copied the /sdcard directory to my computer before i partitioned it so can I just:
    1) reformat the card (FAT 32)
    2) copy the files back
    3) get on down the road
    or do I need to worry about hidden files or keys? The thought of wiping the data card scares me, as you can tell.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  17. lubberlick

    lubberlick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    244
    138
    68
    American English Speaking Taxi Guy
    Indianapolis
    Thats the basics of it. There are no keys or hidden files to be worried about.
     
    rfox54 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...