1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support SD to new bigger SD ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by medic-one, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. medic-one

    medic-one Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    50
    0
    15
    Paramedic
    UK
    I've ordered a Class 6 16 GB card to replace the standard 4 GB one, and was just wondering what would be the best way to get everything that's currently on the card in my phone (including hidden files and system stuff) onto the new card, so i can just put one straight in and use it.

    Is it just plain copy and past work or are there certain program's i should use for this ?

    I'm currently with Tmob (UK) on the 2.1 version, awaiting 2.2 froyo still.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    If you're not rooted using a2sd+...

    Just mount it in Windows, create a folder on your desktop and drag it all in there. Put your new card in the phone, format it, mount and drag it back.
     
  3. medic-one

    medic-one Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    50
    0
    15
    Paramedic
    UK
    Cheers. I'm not rooted and still on orginal Tmobile lock thingy with 2.1.


    With "mount it" you mean just connect it via the usb (both my phone and my computer are in Dutch so just checking i'm doing the right thing as it will be called differently).

    So:

    - create folder on desktop
    - connect phone to computer and open file browser
    - click and drag it all to folder on desktop
    - put new card in phone and format it on the phone
    - connect phone to computer and drag everything from folder to new /SDCARD

    correct ?

    By putting new unformated card in phone it will temporary not have files (photo's, copilot maps etc) but that shouldn't be a problem right.
     
  4. Dicky

    Dicky Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    64
    1
    16
    I recently changed SD Cards and what i did was copy and pasted everything from the old card into the new.
    Didn't have problems :)
     
  5. DragosP

    DragosP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    40
    2
    16
    Engineer
    Braila, Romania
    Correct.
    Be carefully to copy ALL files and folders including the hidden.
     
  6. ThEGr33k

    ThEGr33k Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    114
    6
    36
    Id advise just moving things like photo's, after using a different Card and moving everything my phone threw a paddy and screwed up till I formatted the card.

    Or try it and see how it goes with transfer and work from there.
     
  7. Baz8755

    Baz8755 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    128
    7
    36
    Senior Analyst/Programmer
    South Coast UK
    After doing this you may find that you will need to set up all you ring tones again.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...